Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: how to wire RJ45 2 speed pump

  1. Back To Top    #1


    TFP Guide

    cowboycasey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Fletcher, OK
    Posts
    3,346

    how to wire RJ45 2 speed pump

    i cant find this info anywhere, the only thing in the manual says to wire it to the same terminals the pump is attached to.. Makes sense if I only had a 1 speed.... I am installing a 2 speed pump/motor... I can connect it to another timer slot but if the time ever got off or i changed the amount of time the pump ran that would be bad...

    can I wire it to both legs of the high and low side so it pulls power whenever they are on?

    I will not be wiring it but my electrician has never done 1 before...

    Thanks
    Pool: Intex 16x32 15000 gal, 2 speed 340042, Pentair CC320 Filter, CircuPool SJ45 Salt System, Intermatic PE653RC; Hot Tub: 650 Gal SWG Megachlor
    links: pool school * Recommended-Levels * SLAM * CYA chart * Test kits * How To Post Pictures * Poolmath * OCLT ** Support your website if we helped you :) **

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: how to wire RJ45 2 speed pump

    Where is your switch that controls the pump speed?

    I am not clear what your setup is. Do you have a timer that only turns the pump on and then you manually select the speed?
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3


    TFP Guide

    cowboycasey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Fletcher, OK
    Posts
    3,346

    Re: how to wire RJ45 2 speed pump

    well I guess that would help...

    This is a new install

    I will be connecting the following to Intermatic PE653RC Wireless Control System

    Super Flo 2 speed 340042 and the CircuPool SJ45 Salt System

    I have found the info to wire the pump in here http://www.inyopools.com/HowToPage/h...eed-motor.aspx

    The pictures below show how to wire the pump, but I cant find any info on how to wire the SJ45 in...




    thanks for the help
    Pool: Intex 16x32 15000 gal, 2 speed 340042, Pentair CC320 Filter, CircuPool SJ45 Salt System, Intermatic PE653RC; Hot Tub: 650 Gal SWG Megachlor
    links: pool school * Recommended-Levels * SLAM * CYA chart * Test kits * How To Post Pictures * Poolmath * OCLT ** Support your website if we helped you :) **

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: how to wire RJ45 2 speed pump

    Hmmm ... I may have to look at how that timer actually works. Ideally you want both legs to the pump to be switched on and off and not have the common to the pump coming off the breaker like you show in the drawing.

    Here is the manual: http://www.intermatic.com/~/media/In.../MultiWave.pdf

    There might be a clever way to run the SWG of another switch if the controller thinks it is a booster pump. A quick look through the manual I did not really see an easy way for the SWG to run on both high and low speed.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  5. Back To Top    #5
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: how to wire RJ45 2 speed pump

    Are you sure you want the timer to control both speeds? The only common case where you want to do that is if you have a pool cleaner that is powered by the main pool pump. Most people are better off with a manual switch to change speeds.

    If you do want to use the timer to control both speeds, you need to pick one speed or the other to power the SWG. Typically you pick low speed, as that is the one that normally runs the most.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: how to wire RJ45 2 speed pump

    Maybe you can make the 8/9 terminal be a slave to the pump circuits to switch when either 1 or 2 is active ... the manual is not very clear on the programming details. Then you could wire the SWG to terminal 9.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  7. Back To Top    #7


    TFP Guide

    cowboycasey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Fletcher, OK
    Posts
    3,346

    Re: how to wire RJ45 2 speed pump

    so I thought I was just missing something, it is not really "easy" to program this thing, the manual does not explain it very well...

    I have thought about everything you all have said.. it seems like a good timer but it does not spell out exactly how to wire in a SWG, it does not even mention one.. It has a remote that came with it and I was going to use button 1 (high speed) when I needed to vacuum, circulate in chem's.. Basically to use manually..

    low speed will be the only one I use on a timer to circulate and filter. I think I will be wiring like this, Connect SWG to pin 2 and pin 4, for Low speed

    I will be using pins 8 and 9 for low voltage lights

    Is it bad to have the common coming off the breaker like this, they have all of the connections for 240V doing it this way? is it not safe? is there a better way to connect everything?

    Thanks
    Pool: Intex 16x32 15000 gal, 2 speed 340042, Pentair CC320 Filter, CircuPool SJ45 Salt System, Intermatic PE653RC; Hot Tub: 650 Gal SWG Megachlor
    links: pool school * Recommended-Levels * SLAM * CYA chart * Test kits * How To Post Pictures * Poolmath * OCLT ** Support your website if we helped you :) **

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: how to wire RJ45 2 speed pump

    It just means there is always a hot wire in the pump even when it is not running. Just remember to always turn the breaker off if you mess with the wires.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •