Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Time-lapse using Surveillance System video? - Help with speeding it up?

  1. Back To Top    #1
    Sunbaby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Conroe, TX
    Posts
    1,309

    Lightbulb Time-lapse using Surveillance System video? - Help with speeding it up?

    Hello gang! Not sure I put this in the correct forum - so please move if need be.

    I have been trying to figure out a way to record my pool build and speed it up so I can share the cool videos like you guys have. The hubs wasn't excited about spending $400 on GoPro - so I went to plan B. We have a surveillance system that has 2 cams in the back yard. I finally figured out how to save it to my desktop - but it is true video .mov (not pics like time-lapse). So it is BIG, I am hoping to figure a way to make it download to an external HD - but the settings on the system are not very user friendly. I think my work around would be to manually move the file it to an external as soon as it finishes downloading.

    OK so here is my question. I need to figure out how to speed it up a LOT. I imported it into iMovie (Mac) and figured out how to speed it up X20 - but that isn't going to be enough. The clip I was playing with was about 3 1/2 min long and sped it up as much as possible and it was still 11 sec long. If my math is right - an 8 hour day would still be a 24 min video?

    Anyone have success in this? Any FREE software? I keep finding fantastic software that is $$. Any help would be appreciated!
    ~Wendy
    33'X17' Sports Pool (3'6"-5'-4'6") 7' flush Spa, Blue Granite PT, Waterfalls, Weeping Wall, Baja Ledge and Doggie Beach Entry! Pentair Clean and Clear 420, IntelliFlo XF Pump, SuperFlo 1.5 HP Feature Pump, MasterTemp Heater, Pal-Treo LEDs, Dolphin M4, Liquid Chlorine & TF-100 - My Build Thread

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,494

    Re: Time-lapse using Surveillance System video? - Help with speeding it up?

    What about running it through the process you already used a second time? Or, if that is too fast, do the first run at a lower speed X10 and the second pass at whT you need to get where you want.

    Just and idea....
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Sunbaby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Conroe, TX
    Posts
    1,309

    Re: Time-lapse using Surveillance System video? - Help with speeding it up?

    I never thought about that. Let me try it. I have never used imovie before - so that may work perfectly!
    ~Wendy
    33'X17' Sports Pool (3'6"-5'-4'6") 7' flush Spa, Blue Granite PT, Waterfalls, Weeping Wall, Baja Ledge and Doggie Beach Entry! Pentair Clean and Clear 420, IntelliFlo XF Pump, SuperFlo 1.5 HP Feature Pump, MasterTemp Heater, Pal-Treo LEDs, Dolphin M4, Liquid Chlorine & TF-100 - My Build Thread

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Suwanee, GA
    Posts
    528

    Re: Time-lapse using Surveillance System video? - Help with speeding it up?

    You can try to use ffmepg to split the movie into frames every x second(s) and then reassemble it into a movie. It is not a novice tool, but with just two commands, you can probably get what you're looking for. I just tried it on a short avi clip and it worked well.

    Download ffmpeg binaries for your mac: http://ffmpegmac.net
    Drop the files into a folder

    I took the commands below from these two links. First is to extract a frame every x seconds, the second it to assemble them back to a movie.

    https://trac.ffmpeg.org/wiki/Create%...%20the%20video
    https://trac.ffmpeg.org/wiki/Create%...0from%20images

    These command assume that both the large video and the ffmepg files are in the same directory. Also, that your command prompt is open to that directory. Change the BackyardPool.avi filename to the name of your large video.
    Code:
    $ mkdir tmp
    $ cd tmp
    $ ../ffmpeg -i ../BackyardPool.avi  -vf fps=1 out%d.png
    $ ../ffmpeg -framerate 5 -i out%d.png -c:v libx264 -r 30 -pix_fmt yuv420p timeLapse.mp4
    You can play with the fps= and the -framerate to achieve the look you are after.
    Gary
    21k gal SW, IG Gunite PebbleSheen, 1HP Jandy, Jandy 340 filter, Polaris 280, 17' fiberglass slide w/ 2HP pump.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    bobodaclown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Lakeland, FL
    Posts
    2,351

    Re: Time-lapse using Surveillance System video? - Help with speeding it up?

    Instead of recording it as a movie record images every 10 seconds or so. Then compress the images to a movie. That's what I've done in the past.
    17K Kidney Shaped Pool Concrete (Diamond Bright) Pool, 3/4 hp 2 speed 115V Sta-rite Duraglas PEA5D-180L/P2R5D-181L (Impeller C105-92PS Diffuser C1-216P), 1.5 piping, Pentair CC100 Filter , Heat Siphon 100K BTU Heat Pump Pool Heater, Flow meter Blue White Flowmeter Model No. F-30150P, Hayward Astrolight SP0581N, SWCG CalimarTitanium Edition TE45 , Dolphin Nautilus Plus with CleverClean, Lakeland Florida

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    31

    Re: Time-lapse using Surveillance System video? - Help with speeding it up?

    Time-Lapses are created by taking still images and turning it into a movie. Trying to create a time-lapse from a video is kind of the wrong way to go about it, but if you could speed it up enough, you can get the same effect as a time-lapse. Your surveillance camera/DVR should have a way to capture still images based on motion detection (or just continually). Use that setting, then use something that will assemble it into a time-lapse video.

    Time-lapse duration is based on the number of frames in a second you capture. If you're using still images, and take 1 picture a second, the resulting time-lapse will be 2x as long as the time-lapse created by taking 1 picture every 2 seconds. Although, you can always speed up the time-lapse too.

    Anyway, try GoPro Studio. You don't need a GoPro to use it. When you import the .MOV it will get converted to GoPro's CineForm intermediate format and create an .AVI. From there you can speed it up and then save it out to a final format. I've sped up some of my time-lapses 800x in GoPro Studio. Not sure if it has a max limit. Just be aware that if you speed it up too much, you might not really be able to see much change as it goes on.

    You don't need a brand new GoPro to shoot time-lapses. You can do it with a low cost webcam too like a Foscam 720p cam for $100'ish. You can set the webcam to capture on motion and if you get a model that has an SD card slot, it should be able to save that to the SD card, which eliminates the need to setup an FTP server on your computer. That being said, the quality of a GoPro will be vastly superior, but you don't need a brand new HERO4 either. A Hero 2, 3 or Hero 3+ will do you just fine, and you'd be surprised how inexpensive you can get them on Craigslist and eBay. You don't need the newer GoPro's that can actually assemble the time-lapse video in camera, you can use GoPro studio to assemble it from the still images, it's super easy.
    14k Gallon IG Gunite Pool | 13'x29' Rectangle with 13' x 4' Sun Shelf (shallow end)
    Magic Marcite Aqua Pearl Mini Pebble Interior in Bimini Blue
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 011018 Pump, Pentair CCRP 200 Cartridge Filter, Pentair IC40 SWCG
    Pentair IntelliBrite 5G LED, Intermatic MultiWave Wireless Control System

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Sunbaby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Conroe, TX
    Posts
    1,309

    Re: Time-lapse using Surveillance System video? - Help with speeding it up?

    Thanks guys!!!
    ~Wendy
    33'X17' Sports Pool (3'6"-5'-4'6") 7' flush Spa, Blue Granite PT, Waterfalls, Weeping Wall, Baja Ledge and Doggie Beach Entry! Pentair Clean and Clear 420, IntelliFlo XF Pump, SuperFlo 1.5 HP Feature Pump, MasterTemp Heater, Pal-Treo LEDs, Dolphin M4, Liquid Chlorine & TF-100 - My Build Thread

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad zea3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    9,198

    Re: Time-lapse using Surveillance System video? - Help with speeding it up?

    The simplest way would be as Tim suggested. Edit in Imovie, save it, open the saved movie as a new project, edit again, save again, until you have the result you want. Keep a master of the raw video in case you decide you want to go a different direction with the editing. I'm not positive but I think if you load the video into photobucket it will give you options to reduce file size.
    TFP Moderator
    Helpful links: TF Test Kits,TFP Pool School, PoolMath
    Vogue 21' round AG, Pentair 1 hp 2 speed pump, 36 sq ft DE filter, Hayward S180T 150# sand filter, Houston, Texas
    Love TFP? Become a
    TFP Supporter!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •