Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pvc leak help

1. Back To Top    #1

Pvc leak help

Hi- I'm a pool newby and am in need of some advice as to how to repair a PVC pipe leak above my pool vac pump. I've looked around the forum and have found a few threads that involve a similar repair, but figured I should post my own. I've never done anything like this before, but would really like to learn! I will also be able to enlist the help of my 17 yo son who is the potato cannon king and knows a thing or two about working with PVC .

Here are some pics of the leak location:

Thanks!
    2008, 22,700g, vinyl, IG, SWG, Taylor K-2006 FAS-DPD.

(More info to come when I figure it all out).

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Pvc leak help

Is the leak from the fitting or where the fitting threads in to the pump?

24 ft Round Above Ground - 13500 gallons... Former Pool Frog user. Sand filter . Located just South of Atlanta

3. Back To Top    #3

I would cut the PVC about halfway up to the elbow. You will probably need a new section of PVC, a 1.5" union, a new thread-slip PVC adapter and some pipe dope labeled for use on plastic pipe fittings. Put the new parts in with the union at the cut point.

With the union, you will be able to tighten the threaded fitting as needed, so don't overdo it. Coat the threads with the pipe dope and snug it down. You can break the pump housing if you go crazy on it, so it's better to be loose and tighten it until it stops leaking than to over tighten.

You might be able to reuse the threaded fitting and pipe, but that would be a judgment call when you see if the original fitting has pipe dope or tape on it already and if it is tight.

BTW, that is your filter pump. The vac pump is the smaller pump without the basket on the inlet.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

4. Back To Top    #4