Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Acid - Dry or Liquid?

1. Back To Top    #1

Question Acid - Dry or Liquid?

Do people generally prefer dry or liquid acid to adjust pH levels, etc.? I've been using liquid acid for 7 years, but if you happen to take a breath while pouring it in, it's not the most pleasant thing in the world! I've never tried the dry type. Also, is the dry acid typically more expensive?

Thanks.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Acid - Dry or Liquid?

Muriatic acid (liquid) is a bit more annoying to handle, but it is way less expensive, and also doesn't add anything you don't want in the pool. Dry acid adds sulfates. At low or medium levels sulfates aren't a problem, but if they build up to a high enough level they can cause problems.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Ok, thanks for the info.

4. Back To Top    #4

Liquid. It can be annoying if they wind is blowing the wrong direction. I always take note of the wind direction nod stand upwind of the pour. I usually pour into a glass jar (for measurement purposes) and then to the pool.

I do a 1 quart weekly dose as part of a system to keep my ph under control. The SWG causes it to creep up.

Never tried dry, the price is a killer.

30x20 vinyl IG, Hayward SD60 with Pentair Dynamo 340219 2HP pump, Compupool CPSC24 SWG, Hayward H200FDN heater. APC automatic pool cover.
    Central Illinois

5. Back To Top    #5