Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Cellulose in DE Filter

1. Back To Top    #1

Cellulose in DE Filter

I've been using cellulose in my Hayward DE3620 for about 6 months, just using the cheap stuff from Home Depot (can't remember the brand, I think Pool Time?). I've been happy with the results, but have noticed that when I backwash the water comes out pretty clear, even though I know the grids should be dirty. Opening up the housing for a hose down of the grids shows a lot of accumulated 'stuff'. This means I've being doing full cleans every couple of months rather than just a backwash. So ...

1) Is this an issue related to cellulose generally or possibly just the brand I was using?

2) Is it bad to do that frequency of full cleans (just hosing)? I go though a lot of silicon grease for sure!

3) I had to do a full clean again yesterday after a LOT of live oak blossom being filtered through, and had to get a bag of Jack's Magic fiber from Pinch Your Money - about 3 times as expensive per oz than the Home Depot stuff which I can't find any more. Any recommendations on cellulose fiber supply?

Thanks,
    Mike
    Built 1980, 19' x 30' almost rectangular, screened 15,000 gal, plaster, Hayward DE 3620 filter (currently using cellulose), Emerson 1081 1HP pump, AquaCal Heatwave SuperQuiet SQ110R heater, Zodiac T5 Cleaner, Taylor K-2006 test kit

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Cellulose in DE Filter

Cellulose backwashes better in some filters, worse in others. There doesn't seem to be any real consistency to the various reports we have gotten. Still, it shouldn't be a big deal.

Doing a full cleanup a bit more often is fine.

There are many brands. You could try the Internet and/or pool stores.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School