Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: pool/hot tub connected to each other

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    27

    pool/hot tub connected to each other

    Is it possible to have a pool and spa that are connected to each other with a very wide, but not very deep 'spillover' (see the below pic)? If so, what are the drawbacks? I like the look, but I think that maybe there's a problem with efficiency, overburdening the heater for the hot tub, etc. Anyone have something like this?


  2. Back To Top    #2


    TFP Guide

    kcindc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    1,272

    Re: pool/hot tub connected to each other

    It really depends on your equipment and plumbing set up. I am able to change my water flow so that it only circulates to/from the spa. My gas heater is sized so that it can heat up the pool, so when it is I want to heat up the spa, it only takes 15-20 minutes to go from ambient temp to 101 degrees.
    Karen
    33K IG w spa plaster, Pentair 1HP Whisperflo, DE Filter, SWG CircuPool RJ-60, Dolphin Triton Plus, Raypak Dig 336K BTU, TF-100.
    Pool Math Chlorine / CYA Chart SLAM - Shock Level And Maintain
    2017 replaster/retile

  3. Back To Top    #3
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: pool/hot tub connected to each other

    In a setup like that one, the spa does not overflow into the pool while it is in spa mode. The system will typically have three modes, pool only, spa only, and spa overflowing into the pool. Usually you set it up to overflow into the pool for an hour a day (or if you are around to watch) and the rest of the time they don't exchange water.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: pool/hot tub connected to each other

    My pool and spa are at the same level, more or less. When the spa is full enough to spill, it's about 3-4" higher; even with the top of the skimmer actually. Imagine that!

    My plumbing has two 3-way valves, one in suction and the other in return. Normally, about 20% of the return runs through the spa, and none of the suction. When I want to use the spa alone, I turn the valves to spa in and spa out. The heater doesn't care what it's heating; I use the pool temperature setting for everything.

    I like my setup. When it's time to vacuum, I set the valves to draw from the spa and return to the pool. Then I just brush everything out of the spa and into the spa drain. No need to vacuum. Then I reverse the valves and draw 100% from the skimmer (the vacuum) and return 100% to the spa. That way I have no annoying crosscurrents and ripples. Whatever debris is in the pool stays put until I can vacuum it away. And then I just set it back to pool in, 20% spa/80% pool.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    27

    Re: pool/hot tub connected to each other

    Thanks, guys! So if I'm hearing everyone correctly, this means that such a setup is not only feasible, but it should also pose no significant issues/drawbacks/tradeoffs assuming that it's properly designed? What about cost of the build? Would this be more expensive, less expensive, or about the same as if I had a slightly elevated spa with a narrower spillover? Most people here have the elevated spa, but I just don't like how it looks that way.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: pool/hot tub connected to each other

    I would guess the cost is roughly the same. Less engineering in that you do not have the raise the spa, but it will require more tile work.

    This is really no different than any other pool/spa combo. I just has a much wider "spill-over".

    On advantage for the one in the picture is the ability to have an auto-cover to cover the pool and spa. Or have it easier to pull on and off a solar cover on a reel.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  7. Back To Top    #7

    TFP Guide

    chiefwej's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    2,853

    Re: pool/hot tub connected to each other

    I also have my spa at the same level as the pool. The wall that separates the two is seven feet long and the top of the wall sets at or only a fraction of an inch above the surface. It works out very well, and I like the look of it. For a water feature a fountain was plumbed into the center of the spa. A pipe can be screwed into it that just reaches the surface to operate the fountain or it can be removed. I thought that was a nice addition since there isn't a spillover feature with a surface level spa.
    chiefwej
    Tucson, AZ
    16x36 rectangular (19k) Pebble Tec play pool/spa, Pentair Intelliflo VS 011018, Super II 2hp (spa), Aqua Rite T-15 SWG, Pro Grid 60 DE, Hayward H400 & Heliocol Solar heating, A&A infloor system, fill water w/high CH and TA, 50 ppm borates,TF-100 test kit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •