Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: First year with a pool

1. Back To Top    #1

First year with a pool

So this is my first year opening the pool. We have been going with what the pool store told us this year and the results are not nearly as fast as I expected, and becoming quite expensive.

I am currently waiting on my test kit, it should be here Friday at the latest.

I have also replaced the old sand filter with a new one due to leaks beyond repair, complete with new sand.

So far this week we have fed the pool:

2 jugs of pool first aid
    25 lbs of soars ash
    10lbs of alkalinity up
    30 lbs of Chlor-brite
    8 gallons of 6% bleach

Our FC is not going down as quick as it was, while our CCV remains high. Our current test kit until Friday only reads to 5ppm.

Here is a starting pic.

And a now pic

Type: IG Vynal
    Size: ~ 22,000 GAL
    Filter: Sand - Hayward S244T Pro Series w/ 1HP Hayward Pump

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: First year with a pool

19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Welcome!

Please don't add any more powdered chlorine until you get your test kit. 30 lbs of Chlor-brite (dichlor) will have added 82 CYA to your 22,000 gallon pool. That's way high, especially if you had any residual from last year. I hope you had to backwash the filter a lot and lost some of that. Stick with liquid bleach from now on.

As an aside, you probably wouldn't have had to add so much soda ash and alkalinity up if you hadn't used that chlor-brite. It's very acidic.

I'm sure that once you start doing your own testing, your chemical costs will go down substantially.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.