Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: floc process

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Dewitt, Arkansas
    Posts
    18

    floc process

    I've completed my slamming and I've added plenty of floc to my pool. The dead algae looks to be coming together. But it's all floating on top of my water. The water underneath is blue. I generally use floc at night but I came to this stage this morning. So now I'm wondering if this is the usual process it goes through before it sinks Or if I have another problem going on. And is there anyway to help these huge clumps of dead algae fall besides adding more floc.
    18x33x4.5 Oval AG*55x30 deck*ecoKleer 26" sand filter*Waterway 1.5HP pump*Taylor 2006

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Patrick_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Midland TX
    Posts
    15,001

    Re: floc process

    Hi, and welcome to TFP,

    We don't suggest using a floc to complete the SLAM process. Adding more could make things worse.
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links:
    ABC's Of Pool Chemistry, Test Kits, SLAM Your Pool
    28K Gal IG FreeForm, CLI Quartz, Pentair 36"SF & VS Pump, Dolphin M5, Rheem

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Dewitt, Arkansas
    Posts
    18

    Re: floc process

    I didn't add floc while slamming my pool. Only after it was completed to settle the particles left floating that I thought were causing the water to be cloudy. This is my general routine only I generally floc over night so I don't actually see the process.
    18x33x4.5 Oval AG*55x30 deck*ecoKleer 26" sand filter*Waterway 1.5HP pump*Taylor 2006

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Dewitt, Arkansas
    Posts
    18

    Re: floc process

    I didn't know if this was the normal procees of floc and i should just it give it more time to settle or try to run it though my skimmer and whether or not my filter would clean this up, or if it would just pump it back into the pool.
    18x33x4.5 Oval AG*55x30 deck*ecoKleer 26" sand filter*Waterway 1.5HP pump*Taylor 2006

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Patrick_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Midland TX
    Posts
    15,001

    Re: floc process

    Sorry, I meant we don't suggest it as any part. Before, during, or after. It takes time to clear cloudiness as part of the process. If you were following SLAM, one criteria is clear water to be 100% finished. It may be the picture, or what the floc did, but the water doesn't look SLAM complete.
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links:
    ABC's Of Pool Chemistry, Test Kits, SLAM Your Pool
    28K Gal IG FreeForm, CLI Quartz, Pentair 36"SF & VS Pump, Dolphin M5, Rheem

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Dewitt, Arkansas
    Posts
    18

    Re: floc process

    Okie dokie. I'll give it some more time to see if it settles. And then all I know to do it run my pump and recheck all my levels. When I completed my slam, my FC was holding at 10. All other levels were in check. Water is blue and has about a 12 to 16 inch visibility. Thanks for the replies!
    18x33x4.5 Oval AG*55x30 deck*ecoKleer 26" sand filter*Waterway 1.5HP pump*Taylor 2006

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Patrick_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Midland TX
    Posts
    15,001

    Re: floc process

    Please don't think I'm being rough on you. It truly isn't my intent. If it's only 16" of clarity, the slam wasn't done.

    My best suggestion is to see if you can skim it off. Your getting the opposite effect of what you want.
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links:
    ABC's Of Pool Chemistry, Test Kits, SLAM Your Pool
    28K Gal IG FreeForm, CLI Quartz, Pentair 36"SF & VS Pump, Dolphin M5, Rheem

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Dewitt, Arkansas
    Posts
    18

    Re: floc process

    No worries! Honey if I'd let your replies bother me, I'd be gone from this world a long time ago! That's a negative on the skim. It's just goes through the net. I'm turning my pump back one and going to see what I can get out of it. Thanks again
    18x33x4.5 Oval AG*55x30 deck*ecoKleer 26" sand filter*Waterway 1.5HP pump*Taylor 2006

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Patrick_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Midland TX
    Posts
    15,001

    Re: floc process

    I meant seeing if your filter would catch it. Risky, as you can shred the polymer chains holding it altogether though.

    Thanks for being a good sport....Honey.
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links:
    ABC's Of Pool Chemistry, Test Kits, SLAM Your Pool
    28K Gal IG FreeForm, CLI Quartz, Pentair 36"SF & VS Pump, Dolphin M5, Rheem

  10. Back To Top    #10

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,077

    Re: floc process

    Kaycee,

    You can completely eliminate that issue if you stop using floc. It simply is not necessary. read "The ABC's of Pool Water Chemistry" up in Pool School and then read the SLAM article. You will find we get pools crystal clear with chlorine only. The floc is causing you a headache and money......you probably don't need either.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Dewitt, Arkansas
    Posts
    18

    Re: floc process

    What if it's foam? *eyebrow raised. Annnd. I rechecked my levels. They are all over the place. CYA is non existant. TA is 60 CH is 100. All were in check as of this am.....aye aye aye...facepalm...
    18x33x4.5 Oval AG*55x30 deck*ecoKleer 26" sand filter*Waterway 1.5HP pump*Taylor 2006

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Dewitt, Arkansas
    Posts
    18

    Re: floc process

    And polymer chains...let me Google that
    18x33x4.5 Oval AG*55x30 deck*ecoKleer 26" sand filter*Waterway 1.5HP pump*Taylor 2006

  13. Back To Top    #13

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,077

    Re: floc process

    Well, I assume your posts mean you are at a loss..........help is easy to find.

    Go to Pool School and read "SLAM" in the "How To" section. Then, follow that article exactly as it described....do not add anything or subtract anything. It will (slowly) get rid of your foam and will result in a crystal clear pool.

    I'll say this again.....floc is your enemy. You are doing no favors to yourself by adding floc.

    BTW, this whole forum begins and ends with test results.....can you post them for us?
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Dewitt, Arkansas
    Posts
    18

    Re: floc process

    FC 16
    CC 2
    TA 130
    CH 260
    CYA below 30
    For now, my plans are to stay at shock level until my CC is .5 or below. Correct?
    18x33x4.5 Oval AG*55x30 deck*ecoKleer 26" sand filter*Waterway 1.5HP pump*Taylor 2006

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Dewitt, Arkansas
    Posts
    18

    Re: floc process

    pH 7.4
    18x33x4.5 Oval AG*55x30 deck*ecoKleer 26" sand filter*Waterway 1.5HP pump*Taylor 2006

  16. Back To Top    #16
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: floc process

    Quote Originally Posted by Kacee2005 View Post
    FC 16
    CC 2
    TA 130
    CH 260
    CYA below 30
    For now, my plans are to stay at shock level until my CC is .5 or below. Correct?
    You have three criteria to meet. The first is that the water is clear. That means all the way down, after brushing, and no algae on the walls, either.

    If that one passes, test FC and CC after the sun is off the pool. If CC is less than .5, that part passes. If not, raise FC.

    When the water is clear AND the CC is less than .5, run the overnight loss test. If that passes, you whoop with joy and let the FC level drop for a day or two so you can get accurate test results and adjust everything else. If you didn't pass the overnight test, you add more bleach and mutter darkly about how long it's taking.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  17. Back To Top    #17

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,077

    Re: floc process

    To help maintain some of your FC in the pool during the SLAM, your CYA should be right at 30-40 ppm......get that in there pronto. Do you know how to use poolmath to calc your dosages?
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Dewitt, Arkansas
    Posts
    18

    Re: floc process

    Yes I'm pretty familiar with the process. My CYA was 30 yesterday and nothing now. I'm wondering if my test went bad over winter.
    18x33x4.5 Oval AG*55x30 deck*ecoKleer 26" sand filter*Waterway 1.5HP pump*Taylor 2006

  19. Back To Top    #19
    Patrick_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Midland TX
    Posts
    15,001

    Re: floc process

    No. It would have shown bad before today, I truly believe. Something is off, maybe a test error? Cya won't chage over 1-2 days without a significant change like water replacement.
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links:
    ABC's Of Pool Chemistry, Test Kits, SLAM Your Pool
    28K Gal IG FreeForm, CLI Quartz, Pentair 36"SF & VS Pump, Dolphin M5, Rheem

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Dewitt, Arkansas
    Posts
    18

    Re: floc process

    I agree. My initial test showed no CYA. So I added conditioner to bring up to 30. It registered there for a day or so. And then nothing again. But I'm not having trouble holding FC. Any explanations? Other than test error due to tester or agents?
    18x33x4.5 Oval AG*55x30 deck*ecoKleer 26" sand filter*Waterway 1.5HP pump*Taylor 2006

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •