Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Considering buying a Intex sand filter pump

1. Back To Top    #1

Considering buying a Intex sand filter pump

I have an above ground pool 15x42 made by Swim N Play. I adapted a small intex pump, it does work OK. But it is now starting to shutdown after 15 minutes or so of running time. So I am thinking of upgrading to a an Intex Krystal clear sand pump. The one I am looking at has flow rate of 2,150 gallons per hour.

Looking for tips on similar set ups, if the small pump worked well, this should definitely be worth a shot. I have no experience with sand filter pumps.

Any tips or suggestion are welcome.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Considering buying a Intex sand filter pump

The Intex sand filter and pump systems are excellent for the price, far better than the Intex cartridge filters.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Well, I went ahead and bought the sand filter pump. $135 was a more than reasonable price, considering to replace the same I have is around $47 dls. plus cartridges. Can't wait to hook it up tomorrow. Thanks for the input Jason.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Intex-Krys...-Pump/33153775

4/17/2015

What a difference this pump makes. I am super pleased with the purchase. I also bought a Taylor K-2005 kit. I didn't realize that it was the K-2006 that I needed since I want to have the right tools when shocking. So I'll invest in that separate kit as well. I also need a reliable salt testing kit. Will do some research and purchase from products recommend by this group. The more I search for info in this forum, the more I realize how little I knew about pool maintenance. The amount of knowledge here is amazing, for DIY people you guys are life savers.