Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Timer runs, but won't click over to stop or start new cycle. Repairable?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    227

    Timer runs, but won't click over to stop or start new cycle. Repairable?



    This is the timer in there now. We just bought this house. The timer seems to get stuck a lot when trying to either turn on when off or vice versa. T just gets hung up and won't roll over past the first or last tab to change status.

    Any ideas to repair or the best one to go with that will match size and voltage..

    in ground Gunite pool gallons TBD,, 1 1/2 HP motor running pool and Polaris 380 via a Jandy valve, DE free size TBD.
    new house: TBDK gal IG plaster pool, filter Titan CM DE filter 36 sq ft , 1.5 HP Pump; Polaris 380

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Need new timer, what to replace this old one with?

    The Intermatic mechanical timers are pretty bullet proof. You would want either the 101 or the 104 depending on your voltage ... although they do not have the freeze protection if you care about that.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    227

    Re: Need new timer, what to replace this old one with?

    I do need a freeze protector so a similar one from international might make sense to avoid buying two items.

    http://www.intermatic.com/en/Product..._Controls.aspx

    Never had one of these before, so didn't know if there was a way to fix this one, or if this is a common issue with this type. I've only ever dealt with the normal intermatic timers.


    New house; in ground Gunite pool gallons TBD,, 1 1/2 HP motor running pool and Polaris 380 via a Jandy valve, DE free size TBD.
    new house: TBDK gal IG plaster pool, filter Titan CM DE filter 36 sq ft , 1.5 HP Pump; Polaris 380

  4. Back To Top    #4

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,435

    Re: Need new timer, what to replace this old one with?

    You could go with Intermatic's digital, PE153PF, but it's double the cost of an exact replacement of what you have.
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    227

    Re: Need new timer, what to replace this old one with?

    From what I am seeing, a replacement just like mine is around $150 on Amazon. The 101 or 104 are closer to $50, but would writing be difficult switching from one to the other and losing the freeze protector?


    New house; in ground Gunite pool gallons TBD,, 1 1/2 HP motor running pool and Polaris 380 via a Jandy valve, DE free size TBD.
    new house: TBDK gal IG plaster pool, filter Titan CM DE filter 36 sq ft , 1.5 HP Pump; Polaris 380

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    227

    Re: Need new timer, what to replace this old one with?

    Could it be a motor issue?
    new house: TBDK gal IG plaster pool, filter Titan CM DE filter 36 sq ft , 1.5 HP Pump; Polaris 380

  7. Back To Top    #7
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Timer runs, but won't click over to stop or start new cycle. Repairable?

    It could be the motor, though the motors generally either work or fail completely. Binding up like your describe is usually either the switch getting sticky or something getting bent/misaligned.

    The simplest thing to do is to replace the whole mechanism with an identical one. It wouldn't hurt to try replacing the motor first, though it might cost less or might cost more.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    227

    Re: Timer runs, but won't click over to stop or start new cycle. Repairable?

    OK thanks! its missing some of the tabs as well, so may just be best off getting a new one just like it.
    new house: TBDK gal IG plaster pool, filter Titan CM DE filter 36 sq ft , 1.5 HP Pump; Polaris 380

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    227

    Re: Timer runs, but won't click over to stop or start new cycle. Repairable?

    Quote Originally Posted by JasonLion View Post
    It could be the motor, though the motors generally either work or fail completely. Binding up like your describe is usually either the switch getting sticky or something getting bent/misaligned.

    The simplest thing to do is to replace the whole mechanism with an identical one. It wouldn't hurt to try replacing the motor first, though it might cost less or might cost more.
    Is there a certain place on these where it tells you the voltage or model #? So I know the correct one to get?
    new house: TBDK gal IG plaster pool, filter Titan CM DE filter 36 sq ft , 1.5 HP Pump; Polaris 380

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,994

    Re: Timer runs, but won't click over to stop or start new cycle. Repairable?

    What about spraying the switch with some electrical contact cleaner? Turn off the breaker first.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  11. Back To Top    #11
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Timer runs, but won't click over to stop or start new cycle. Repairable?

    If your pump is 1 1/2 HP or less, then a PF1103MT. For 240 volt pumps over 1 1/2 HP you want PF1102MT.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    227

    Re: Timer runs, but won't click over to stop or start new cycle. Repairable?

    Ok great thanks!
    new house: TBDK gal IG plaster pool, filter Titan CM DE filter 36 sq ft , 1.5 HP Pump; Polaris 380

  13. Back To Top    #13

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,435

    Re: Timer runs, but won't click over to stop or start new cycle. Repairable?

    Worst case is you just get a normal timer to replace it and then when the cold weather comes along you just make a mental not to watch the forecast and when they say a possible freeze, turn the pump on and let it run all night. That what I do.
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    227

    Re: Timer runs, but won't click over to stop or start new cycle. Repairable?

    **Update** Ended up getting the same timer as before, and had a local guy who used to own a pool company and helps out neighbors put it in for $50. Works great. Thanks for all the help!
    new house: TBDK gal IG plaster pool, filter Titan CM DE filter 36 sq ft , 1.5 HP Pump; Polaris 380

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •