Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Does the Aquarite system limit chlorine production?

  1. Back To Top    #1
    sundaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Oxford, MD 21654
    Posts
    23

    Does the Aquarite system limit chlorine production?

    This is my second season with the pool and the first in which I opened.
    This morning’s testing results
    FC-6
    CC-0.5
    pH-7.6
    TA-75
    CH-280
    CYA-70
    Salt-3300 from Aquarite and 3400 from taylor test ket
    Temp 56⁰

    From The Aquarite menu
    3300
    56⁰
    25.2V
    3.11A
    100% set to super chlorinate, so I know the cell is working.
    -3200
    AL-0
    r1.58
    t-9

    When I first opened the pool, 3 weeks ago, the temp was around 50⁰ and the pool had a FC-11, CC-1.0. And the rest of the testing results were on the low side but not too low. I have slowly brought them up to the readings this morning. The water temp over the past couple of weeks rises to around 60 throughout the day then back to low to mid 50’s. Last year I ran my aquarite around 35% throughout the summer and maintained a FC around 4-6 and CC below 1.
    So far this season I’ve had to keep adding bleach every couple of days to maintain my FC around 5.
    I know the aquarite stops producing below 50 but why do I have to keep adding bleach to maintain my FC?

    Thanks
    Dave

    Viking Cancun 14000 gal, Hayward S244T sand filter, Hayward SP26SP pump, Hayward AquaRite T-9 Salt System

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Does the Aquarite system limit chlorine production?

    The AquaRite won't work at all below 50. It also doesn't work very well in the 50s. According to the diagnostic display it is running at about half of it's full capacity. I assume that is because of the low water temperature.

    On the other hand, the pool shouldn't need nearly as much chlorine in the 50s as it would at warmer temperatures. So I suspect something else is also going on at the same time. It is possible to have a low level algae problem, something you can't see in the water but still enough to consume some extra chlorine.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Saturn94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    461

    Re: Does the Aquarite system limit chlorine production?

    I asked The manufacturer about this some years ago. If I remember correctly, below 50 it shuts the cell off, and between 50-60 it will only run at 20% regardless of how high you set it.
    20k IG vinyl liner/Aqua Rite SWCG, T-15 cell/Hayward Pro Grid 6020 DE filter/Polaris 280 with booster pump/Hayward Superpump 1 hp/city water/pool installed March 2004

  4. Back To Top    #4
    sundaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Oxford, MD 21654
    Posts
    23

    Re: Does the Aquarite system limit chlorine production?

    Quote Originally Posted by JasonLion View Post
    The AquaRite won't work at all below 50. It also doesn't work very well in the 50s. According to the diagnostic display it is running at about half of it's full capacity. I assume that is because of the low water temperature.

    On the other hand, the pool shouldn't need nearly as much chlorine in the 50s as it would at warmer temperatures. So I suspect something else is also going on at the same time. It is possible to have a low level algae problem, something you can't see in the water but still enough to consume some extra chlorine.
    Thanks Jason, So Ive searched around but can not find what the v/a are at full capacity....do you know?
    Should I continue adding bleach to maintain my FC until the pool warms or should I shock it now?

    Quote Originally Posted by Saturn94 View Post
    I asked The manufacturer about this some years ago. If I remember correctly, below 50 it shuts the cell off, and between 50-60 it will only run at 20% regardless of how high you set it.
    That's great to know...thanks
    Dave

    Viking Cancun 14000 gal, Hayward S244T sand filter, Hayward SP26SP pump, Hayward AquaRite T-9 Salt System

  5. Back To Top    #5
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Does the Aquarite system limit chlorine production?

    With a T-9 cell amps can range from 2.3 – 6.7 amps. Numbers around 6 amps are normal in mid-summer with a cell in good condition.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,499

    Re: Does the Aquarite system limit chlorine production?

    I would bring the FC up to about 10 and conduct an Overnight Chlorine Loss Test to see if there is al low level algae problem about to burst forth. If you fail the OCLT SLAM the pool.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  7. Back To Top    #7
    sundaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Oxford, MD 21654
    Posts
    23

    Re: Does the Aquarite system limit chlorine production?

    Quote Originally Posted by JasonLion View Post
    With a T-9 cell amps can range from 2.3 – 6.7 amps. Numbers around 6 amps are normal in mid-summer with a cell in good condition.
    Thanks Jason....I just wrote this on my unit for future reference

    Quote Originally Posted by tim5055 View Post
    I would bring the FC up to about 10 and conduct an Overnight Chlorine Loss Test to see if there is al low level algae problem about to burst forth. If you fail the OCLT SLAM the pool.
    Thanks Tim, I will do this tonight


    Dave

    Viking Cancun 14000 gal, Hayward S244T sand filter, Hayward SP26SP pump, Hayward AquaRite T-9 Salt System

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Re: Does the Aquarite system limit chlorine production?

    For the aquarite, if the salt readings from the box match the Taylor drop test, that's a good indication that the amps are correct for that water temperature. If the cell was underperforming, it would be reporting lower than actual salt levels.

  9. Back To Top    #9
    sundaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Oxford, MD 21654
    Posts
    23

    Re: Does the Aquarite system limit chlorine production?

    So I just did the OCLT...last night my FC was 9.5 CC 0.5, water temp was 58
    This morning the FC was 8 and CC 0.5, water temp was 50

    So with that I guess It's worth Slamming?
    I guess I stop at the local WallyWorld and pick up a couple cases of bleach
    Dave

    Viking Cancun 14000 gal, Hayward S244T sand filter, Hayward SP26SP pump, Hayward AquaRite T-9 Salt System

  10. Back To Top    #10
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Does the Aquarite system limit chlorine production?

    Good plan. Be sure to brush everything very throughly while at SLAM level.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  11. Back To Top    #11
    sundaze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Oxford, MD 21654
    Posts
    23

    Re: Does the Aquarite system limit chlorine production?

    Quote Originally Posted by JasonLion View Post
    Good plan. Be sure to brush everything very throughly while at SLAM level.
    Thanks...will do.....
    Being this was my first opening and the water looks crystal clear, I could not imagine what was going on.
    Dave

    Viking Cancun 14000 gal, Hayward S244T sand filter, Hayward SP26SP pump, Hayward AquaRite T-9 Salt System

  12. Back To Top    #12
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,499

    Re: Does the Aquarite system limit chlorine production?

    Quote Originally Posted by sundaze View Post
    Thanks...will do.....
    Being this was my first opening and the water looks crystal clear, I could not imagine what was going on.
    That is why we teach accurate testing and knowing your pool. A pool store would have looked at your original numbers and told you to reduce FC as it was above their normal recomendation of 5. When the algae started to cloud the water they would sell you lots of stuff.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •