Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Replace Jandy Plus HP with Pentair Intelliflow VS

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Parkland, FL
    Posts
    727

    Replace Jandy Plus HP with Pentair Intelliflow VS

    As the subject says, my Jandy Plus HP is leaking. I repaired it once, might try to repair again, its split at the seem in the body where the water exits. Anyway, its just a matter of time before it needs to be replaced. What are the odds that the intelliflow VS will just drop into place and line up with the plumbing from the Jandy plus HP?
    8000 gal diamond brite pool with 650 gal spillover spa, Pentair 3hp VS pump. Jandy Cartridge filter and Jandy Heat Pump. Jandy PDA automation system with 2 Pentair Laminars. SmartPool NC74S Robotic Pool Cleaner.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Replace Jandy Plus HP with Pentair Intelliflow VS

    It won't, you will need (very minor) plumbing adjustments.

    An IntelliFlo is not your most economical choice in Florida. A two speed pump will cost less in total lifetime costs.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Parkland, FL
    Posts
    727

    Re: Replace Jandy Plus HP with Pentair Intelliflow VS

    Quote Originally Posted by JasonLion View Post
    It won't, you will need (very minor) plumbing adjustments.

    An IntelliFlo is not your most economical choice in Florida. A two speed pump will cost less in total lifetime costs.
    It will cost less in aggravation for me since the variable speed I just hook the cable up to the aqualink. Plus I honestly can't see how a 2 speed would cost less. I can have a speed for filtration/SWG. I can have another speed when running the heat pump which is at least an hour or 2 ordeal to heat the spa, and I can have a third speed to run the blower jets when I'm finally ready to get in the spa. And a fourth speed to run the laminar jets when I want them working.

    What are the minor plumbing adjustments needed?
    8000 gal diamond brite pool with 650 gal spillover spa, Pentair 3hp VS pump. Jandy Cartridge filter and Jandy Heat Pump. Jandy PDA automation system with 2 Pentair Laminars. SmartPool NC74S Robotic Pool Cleaner.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Parkland, FL
    Posts
    727

    Re: Replace Jandy Plus HP with Pentair Intelliflow VS

    So pump has seized, it is done, I am ordering the pentair intelliflo this weekend. What kind of adjustments is it going to need to drop in place of the plus hp 2.5 I have now and can I use the same unions or do I need to buy the unions that are recommended for it?
    8000 gal diamond brite pool with 650 gal spillover spa, Pentair 3hp VS pump. Jandy Cartridge filter and Jandy Heat Pump. Jandy PDA automation system with 2 Pentair Laminars. SmartPool NC74S Robotic Pool Cleaner.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,994

    Re: Replace Jandy Plus HP with Pentair Intelliflow VS

    I would buy the recommended unions. Odds are not good that the plumbing will line up. It will likely need a plumbing tweak.

    I have that pump and LOVE it.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Parkland, FL
    Posts
    727

    Re: Replace Jandy Plus HP with Pentair Intelliflow VS

    I can't just use the unions already there? I'm assuming they unscrew from the existing pump?
    8000 gal diamond brite pool with 650 gal spillover spa, Pentair 3hp VS pump. Jandy Cartridge filter and Jandy Heat Pump. Jandy PDA automation system with 2 Pentair Laminars. SmartPool NC74S Robotic Pool Cleaner.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Parkland, FL
    Posts
    727

    Re: Replace Jandy Plus HP with Pentair Intelliflow VS

    Quote Originally Posted by robl45 View Post
    I can't just use the unions already there? I'm assuming they unscrew from the existing pump?
    apparently they don't unscrew, I bought the unions. I'm hoping this is a simple job. From what I can tell, with the aqualink PDA, I need to leave it connected to the filter pump relay according to the manual and then i set the speeds in the PDA.
    8000 gal diamond brite pool with 650 gal spillover spa, Pentair 3hp VS pump. Jandy Cartridge filter and Jandy Heat Pump. Jandy PDA automation system with 2 Pentair Laminars. SmartPool NC74S Robotic Pool Cleaner.

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,994

    Re: Replace Jandy Plus HP with Pentair Intelliflow VS

    I don't think speed can be controlled through a relay. My pump is powered directly by the circuit breaker and the low voltage cable goes to automation to control the pump.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Parkland, FL
    Posts
    727

    Re: Replace Jandy Plus HP with Pentair Intelliflow VS

    The manual says the filter pump relay turns it on and then speeds are set through the PDA when filter pump is active.
    8000 gal diamond brite pool with 650 gal spillover spa, Pentair 3hp VS pump. Jandy Cartridge filter and Jandy Heat Pump. Jandy PDA automation system with 2 Pentair Laminars. SmartPool NC74S Robotic Pool Cleaner.

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,994

    Re: Replace Jandy Plus HP with Pentair Intelliflow VS

    OK, I'm not familiar with the aqualink PDA. Give it a shot and let's see if it works. Make sure to read the pump owners manual also with regard to hooking up automation.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  11. Back To Top    #11
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Replace Jandy Plus HP with Pentair Intelliflow VS

    Quote Originally Posted by robl45 View Post
    The manual says the filter pump relay turns it on and then speeds are set through the PDA when filter pump is active.
    The manual is confusing. That particularly statement does not apply to a variable speed pump controlled over a data cable. The IntelliFlo should be wired directly to the circuit breaker and will be turned on/off via the data cable.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Parkland, FL
    Posts
    727

    Re: Replace Jandy Plus HP with Pentair Intelliflow VS

    Quote Originally Posted by JasonLion View Post
    The manual is confusing. That particularly statement does not apply to a variable speed pump controlled over a data cable. The IntelliFlo should be wired directly to the circuit breaker and will be turned on/off via the data cable.
    Well I hooked it to the filter pump relay like the manual said and used the data cable. It works perfectly like that. Unfortunately, there appears to be a problem with the threads in the housing so I only got to play with it for 15 minutes or so, but it turned on and off at the correct speeds, switched to the correct speeds when something was turned on, etc. I was pretty impressed that it worked so simply. I expected to be playing with that part for awhile to get it to work correctly.

    Stupid thing seems to need 1950rpm or I get no flow on the aquapure salt generator. I figured I'd be able to run lower with the generator. Is that normal? Heater worked at 1950 rpm as well. My plan is to run as low as possible to chlorinate/filter the pool and just crank up the speeds when running the laminar jets, or blower for the spa.
    8000 gal diamond brite pool with 650 gal spillover spa, Pentair 3hp VS pump. Jandy Cartridge filter and Jandy Heat Pump. Jandy PDA automation system with 2 Pentair Laminars. SmartPool NC74S Robotic Pool Cleaner.

  13. Back To Top    #13
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,994

    Re: Replace Jandy Plus HP with Pentair Intelliflow VS

    That is pretty high rpm. Mine will run the SWG at 900rpm with clean filters. I run it at 1100 rpm so that there is no issue with the filters as they clog up. I have never had a low flow error at 1100 rpm. I run 1950 rpm through my solar panels. How many elbows does your plumbing have? Does the filter need cleaning?

    Nice that it is selecting speeds, programming automation can be the hardest part.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Parkland, FL
    Posts
    727

    Re: Replace Jandy Plus HP with Pentair Intelliflow VS

    Quote Originally Posted by pooldv View Post
    That is pretty high rpm. Mine will run the SWG at 900rpm with clean filters. I run it at 1100 rpm so that there is no issue with the filters as they clog up. I have never had a low flow error at 1100 rpm. I run 1950 rpm through my solar panels. How many elbows does your plumbing have? Does the filter need cleaning?

    Nice that it is selecting speeds, programming automation can be the hardest part.
    The filter probably needs a replacement at some point but everything runs fine. I'll have to watch it longer when I have this pump issue sorted out.
    8000 gal diamond brite pool with 650 gal spillover spa, Pentair 3hp VS pump. Jandy Cartridge filter and Jandy Heat Pump. Jandy PDA automation system with 2 Pentair Laminars. SmartPool NC74S Robotic Pool Cleaner.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •