Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Auto fill, working properly or not ?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    794

    Auto fill, working properly or not ?

    Hello to all,

    Our PB installed an auto-fill, but I am not sure if it is operating properly.

    Based on the waterline should bisect our top-tile in half, it is now below that point. When I push down on the floating ball to simulate a much lower level of water, you hear the water come on, but the flow rate is no more than if an old tank on a toilet was leaking. Does this flow rate sound correct?

    Are there any videos or something that I can on how a proper auto-fill valve should work?

    Thank you very much,
    tstex

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,999

    Re: Auto fill, working properly or not ?

    Yes, that is exactly how ours works. It runs a lot, but our water bill didn't go up noticeably, so it must be running at a very low rate. If we have a big crazy swim weekend it takes several days to get back normal water level. Don't know about any videos.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  3. Back To Top    #3
    gtemkin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    738

    Re: Auto fill, working properly or not ?

    There's practically no way to perfectly adjust the autofill on the first try. It will have to be readjusted multiple times if you're looking to hit an exact spot on a tile (how big a tile? 1"sq? 6"sq) . Yes, the autofill just leaks water into the pool so after it's adjusted, it could take a day or 2 to come to it's final level.

    If we're talking about being within 1/2" of the "ideal" spot, that should be just fine and not cause any problems. I suspect the pool was filled with a hose to a level above where the autofill would have put it and, with some water loss, the pool's level is now lower and not at the point where the autofill will start adding water. If it continues lower and you want it to maintain a higher level, you'll have to readjust the the float height. Probably will take several attempts to get it where you want it.
    21K gal 16' x 40' in-ground pool built 1959, old school with Jacuzzi bronze pump, American Products 24" Sand Filter & Americana Multiport valve, Jandy Lite2 millivolt heater, Coverstar cover, and classic Kreepy Krauly.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    794

    Re: Auto fill, working properly or not ?

    well, sounds like I am in the same boat.

    tile at the water line is 6". So it's at about 1/3 the way or 2" vs at 3" where it needs to be. I guess if I raised the float some it would raise the water line too. Hopefully there is a way to increase the flow-rate too. It seems that the evaporation rate is faster then the flow rate so it will be running all the time. we have a 16-17K gal pool and a huge 9'x9' spa that is deep....I have filled w hose to date to speed-up the process.

    Thank you,
    tstex

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    North DFW
    Posts
    161

    Re: Auto fill, working properly or not ?

    We asked for one on our build, which PB installed. Ours is tied into our sprinkler line, and has significant flow when is on.
    39' x 18' IG 3.5X4.5X9 34k gallon w/ raised spa, 3 stone scupers
    Jandy 60 SqFt DE, Jandy PDA PS6, Jandy JXi400 heater, Jandy 2.0 EPump w/SVRS
    A&A Manufacturing ICS w/G4 venturi heads
    2 incandescent lights in pool, 1 in spa.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    JayBauman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Katy, TX
    Posts
    617

    Re: Auto fill, working properly or not ?

    Yesterday, I turned on the water supply to my autofill (looks like a toilet valve in a skimmer-type basket on my pool deck) and raised the pool level by about an inch in just over an hour.
    23' x 37' IG 18.5k gallon SWG w/ raised spa, Build Thread -->Here
    Wet Edge® Pearl Matrix®, Hayward® SwimClear™ 525 ft², Hayward® Goldline Controls® PS-8
    4x Hayward® TriStar™ pumps, Paramount PCC2000® ICS, TF-100 w/Speedstir

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    794

    Re: Auto fill, working properly or not ?

    For those that can raise the water line an inch an hr. what make/model and configuration for auto-fill do you have?

    Mine too looks like the old toilet-tank ball and arm, but a lot smaller and is too in skimmer like hole w brass top

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Auto fill, working properly or not ?

    If you need a large increase in water level, the valves will be open more and raise the water faster. If the level is very near the set level, the valve will only be slightly open. I think mine basically runs a little bit all the time.

    - - - Updated - - -

    If you need a large increase in water level ... throw a hose in it and do not rely on the auto-fill which is meant to maintain the level
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  9. Back To Top    #9

    TFP Guide
    mrcarcrazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Odessa, TX
    Posts
    973

    Re: Auto fill, working properly or not ?

    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle View Post
    If you need a large increase in water level, the valves will be open more and raise the water faster. If the level is very near the set level, the valve will only be slightly open. I think mine basically runs a little bit all the time.

    - - - Updated - - -

    If you need a large increase in water level ... throw a hose in it and do not rely on the auto-fill which is meant to maintain the level
    ^^^This

    the autofill is really a maintenance item. the hose will be much faster.
    IG gunite/plaster pool/spa Started 1/17/14, Plastered 5/16/14
    Size: 12'-21'x39' free form, depth ranging from 4' to 7, attached 6 person spa with spillover.
    Equipment: Whisperflo 2hp pump, Pentair 30" sand filter, Pentair Mastertemp 400k BTU heater, 1hp Whisperflo for waterfalls, and a blower for spa floor

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    North DFW
    Posts
    161

    Re: Auto fill, working properly or not ?

    Quote Originally Posted by tstex View Post
    For those that can raise the water line an inch an hr. what make/model and configuration for auto-fill do you have?
    My contract addendum says Letro.
    39' x 18' IG 3.5X4.5X9 34k gallon w/ raised spa, 3 stone scupers
    Jandy 60 SqFt DE, Jandy PDA PS6, Jandy JXi400 heater, Jandy 2.0 EPump w/SVRS
    A&A Manufacturing ICS w/G4 venturi heads
    2 incandescent lights in pool, 1 in spa.

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Patrick_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Midland TX
    Posts
    15,001

    Re: Auto fill, working properly or not ?

    Quote Originally Posted by tstex View Post
    For those that can raise the water line an inch an hr. what make/model and configuration for auto-fill do you have?

    Mine too looks like the old toilet-tank ball and arm, but a lot smaller and is too in skimmer like hole w brass top
    The amount of flow matters, but if your pool is 40k gallons, it won't be filled as fast as the guy above with 18k gallons. Can you please add your pool specs to your sig line? It will help to answer you better and faster in many instances.
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links:
    ABC's Of Pool Chemistry, Test Kits, SLAM Your Pool
    28K Gal IG FreeForm, CLI Quartz, Pentair 36"SF & VS Pump, Dolphin M5, Rheem

  12. Back To Top    #12
    umpalumpajay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    West Hills, CA
    Posts
    157

    Re: Auto fill, working properly or not ?

    I just adjusted mine the other day, just turn the set screw and push it down til it makes the toilet refill sound.and tighten it back up...go in small increments til you get it just right. I have crazy good water pressure so mine fills fast, but you may not. Just adjust it a little at a time and you will be golden.
    12000g pool + 1000g spa. Jandy 2.0hp epump + separate Jandy pump for Sheer Descent. Jandy CV Cartridge Filter. Jandy Lxi gas heater. Tropical Breeze PebbleTec. Aqualink. Aquapure SWG. Nature 2. The Pool Cleaner 2x. Taylor K-2005.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •