Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Old pool pump.. dead.. new suggestions?

1. Back To Top    #1

Old pool pump.. dead.. new suggestions?

Hello all..
    A couple of weeks ago I went out to turn on my pool pump to start cleaning the pool up.(I left pump off all winter) When I turned it on, all I got was a low humming noise. I have taken the pump apart, cleaned all debris I could from impeller and tried to manually "turn" impeller with that large screw in the end of pump and it will not budge.

I have read a few different things saying it's dead if I can't turn impeller. I am a complete newbie when dealing with pumps/motors but I am not afraid of DIY projects. The pump is at least 7 years old(came with the pool/house when we bought it) It is a Speck E91-II. Is it worth trying to repair myself or do I need to invest in a new one? If I need a new one, what would be a suitable replacement? (It has a "hi" and "low" speed, not sure if I actually need that though)

I live in Montgomery, AL and the pool is 24' round and 4' deep. I have been using a SWG last couple of years.

Thanks for reading and all information given!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    24' Round AGP - 13500
    Hayward Powerflo Matrix
    SWG
    Sand Filter

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Old pool pump.. dead.. new suggestions?

Im afraid Im not much of help for above ground pump and Im sure someone will be along shortly to help you.

But I would like to say, you definitely should stay with at least a 2 speed as you have now.
    Running on low speed will mean a LOT less electricy and low speed is just fine to keep your pool water filtered.

The high speed would be used mostly for vacuuming and mixing chemicals into the water.

Sorry I couldnt offer more adivce.
    Divin Dave,