Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: help with star rite Max E Therm and pentair intellitouch commands

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    3

    Post help with star rite Max E Therm and pentair intellitouch commands

    Hello Forum Members,

    I've recently run into a problem trying to send communication from
    my pentair intellitouch i9 to my Sta Rite Heater.

    hopefully i can gain some words of advice from the experts here.

    switching between Spa or Pool remotely does not seem to change the Sta Rite Heater's
    local spa/pool setting, however the heater is engaged correctly.

    example if I send a control command to the heater to engage the spa, it will heat the spa to whatever
    the Sta Rite front panel was last selected . (if pool selected it will only heat to the preset pool level)
    (if spa is selected locally on front panel then all is good, as the correct high temp setting is read and actioned)

    again, the front panel of the Sta Rite seems to not be remotely being controlled by the intellitouch
    with regards to recalling the correct spa or pool high temp setting.

    there are no warning messages and the system fires/shuts down correctly.

    I hope i've made myself clear.
    I've checked the 2wire connection between the intellitouch board and the star rite fireman's switch and
    i don't see any loose wires.

    The system was working correctly a few months ago.

    thanks for any suggestions !

    kind regards

    alex

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: help with star rite Max E Therm and pentair intellitouch commands

    Welcome to TFP!

    The automation system is not supposed to change the pool/spa mode on the heater, nor is it supposed to change the target temperature on the heater. The heater should simply be set to a very high water temperature, higher than you are every likely to want, in either pool or spa mode (doesn't matter which), and then the automation system should be able to turn it on and off remotely using it's own settings.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,435

    Re: help with star rite Max E Therm and pentair intellitouch commands

    What Jason said.
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    3

    Re: help with star rite Max E Therm and pentair intellitouch commands

    thanks you both for your replies.

    So my intellitouch is programmed to heat the
    pool to 85
    and the spa to 100

    on the front panel of the sta rite heater
    the maximums are set at
    pool 88
    and spa 104

    should i set the local pool temp to 104 too?

    when tell the intellitouch to switch the spa on it heats to
    88 then shuts off

    best

    alex

  5. Back To Top    #5
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: help with star rite Max E Therm and pentair intellitouch commands

    Put the heater in spa mode using the controls on the heater and leave it there, and you should be fine.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    3

    Talking Re: help with star rite Max E Therm and pentair intellitouch commands

    thanks so much everyone for your advice

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •