Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Newbie from LA

1. Back To Top    #1

Newbie from LA

hello all. Newbie here from LA. Last year we put up our Intex 24' pool. Everything was great until one side sunk and we ended up with a 5" difference from one side to the other. I took the pool down at the end of the summer, and I am planning on leveling the ground and using pavers to support the legs. My question is, can I till up the dirt, level it, then pack it down? will this give me a sufficient base for the pool? I have 6-8 weeks before I put the pool back up, would this give the dirt time to pack down solid with watering and tamping? any advice would be appreciated.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Newbie from LA

Welcome to TFP!!!

We generally say it is best to dig down the high side to undisturbed dirt to level the site.

That said, if you have the equipment and know-how, you could pack the dirt down and it might be firm enough ... pools are very heavy.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle View Post
    Welcome to TFP!!!

We generally say it is best to dig down the high side to undisturbed dirt to level the site.

That said, if you have the equipment and know-how, you could pack the dirt down and it might be firm enough ... pools are very heavy.