SWG potential lightning strike

SHOTS

Mar 24, 2015
Charlotte, NC
Newbie here. I bought a house last year that had been sitting for about 2 years. The pool has a SWG, but the previous owners thought it was hit by lightning after they moved. Pentair customer service said I need to add 18 bags of salt (since none is left in the pool) to see if the SWG is operational. Lights come on, but it doesn't read anything. Since we bought the house late last summer, we didn't worry with the SWG and just did chlorine manually based on the pool company's recommendation. This year we want to be more hands on and do it ourselves. So, here are the questions I have:

1) Is there another way to troubleshoot without buying 18 bags of salt?
2) Is it worth the effort/money to have it replaced if it was indeed hit by lightning?
3) If I add the salt and decide to hold off on the new SWG (assuming this one is fried), will the salt cause any problems with the water without the SWG running?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Welcome to TFP!

1) The SWG should power up, show a power on light and a low salt light. If it doesn't do that something is wrong. Even then it still might be something simple to fix.
2) Having a SWG is very popular with many people. I recommend getting it working, but if broken it will require some up from investment to get it working again.
3) Having salt in the water will be fine, no issues other than buying and carrying the salt.

Shots,

I have a couple of questions for you. When you say "Lights come on, but it doesn't read anything",

1. What specific lights are on?
2. What are you looking at that does not "read" anything?
3. How did you determine the current salt level in your pool?
4. How long did you let the SWG run before determining it was bad?

Thanks,

Jim R.

Hi Jim,

My pic didn't work, so I'll type out the results. Just now it has shown more life than it did last year.

Salt

Level: Red on Low

Power - red light on
Cell - no light at all