Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Automation......Thought I Was Confused Before It Arrived

  1. Back To Top    #1
    sag365's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Ft. Myers, FL
    Posts
    42

    Automation......Thought I Was Confused Before It Arrived

    Even before my Zodiac Z4-PSi arrived, I was looking at the installation manual and scratching my head. Now I am flat out confused!

    What I have in boxes in my garage are a Pentair Intelliflo VSP, Zodiac Z4-PSi, and an Aquatherm heater (Aquacal). My first question is, according to the instructions, to wire the pump to the relay on the Z4 controller. Does this mean there is no power to the pump until the relay kicks on? Therefore the pump control panel itself is off? If that is the case, how does the pump know what speed to run at when it kicks on? How does it get its instruction from the controller?

    My second question is, unlike the pump, the wiring diagram does not show a heater relay, only Aux 1 (which is shown connected to a blower), Aux 2, and Aux 3. Do I connect the heater to an Aux position on the Z4 controller, or wire the heater directly to the breaker and just use the 'Heater' position shown on the 'Green Terminal Bar' (top center of diagram) and connect it to the Y and Z positions on my heater's control board (Jandy control)?

    Z4 Pic.jpg

    Thanks for any insight.
    16k gal, IG pool and spa, pool 29x14, pebble, 1983, 1.5" plumbing, Pentair Intelliflo VSP, Pentair Quad DE, Zodiac Aqualink Z4-PSi, AquaRite T15 SWG, Aquatherm AT115

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,999

    Re: Automation......Thought I Was Confused Before It Arrived

    Not for sure with the zodiac, but for my Pentair Solartouch the Pentair VSpump is wired for power direct to the breaker and the the contol low voltage cable is wired to the Solartouch. Should be the same for your pump and heater, power wired directly to the circuit breaker and low voltage control wires wired to the contoller.

    - - - Updated - - -

    The pump relay is only used to turn the pump on or off if it is not a VS pump.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,999

    Re: Automation......Thought I Was Confused Before It Arrived

    I scanned through the Zodiac manual quickly and it does have the ability to send pump speed to a VS pump. Also, the manuals for your pump and heater will have instructions for wiring to automation that will help. Between the three manuals it should help clear it up.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  4. Back To Top    #4
    sag365's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Ft. Myers, FL
    Posts
    42

    Re: Automation......Thought I Was Confused Before It Arrived

    @pooldv

    Thanks for the input. How does it supply info to the pump? Cannot find any instruction for that. Also, does that mean power to the pump is either on or off when controlled from the relay?
    16k gal, IG pool and spa, pool 29x14, pebble, 1983, 1.5" plumbing, Pentair Intelliflo VSP, Pentair Quad DE, Zodiac Aqualink Z4-PSi, AquaRite T15 SWG, Aquatherm AT115

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,999

    Re: Automation......Thought I Was Confused Before It Arrived

    Your pump should have come with a separate cable to wire to automation. I think mine had 4 wires but only two were used for my Solartouch. You do not want to wire power to the pump from the relay in the Zodiac, it needs to be wired directly to the breaker. The Zodiac will turn it on and set speed through the controller cable based in settings in the Zodiac.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  6. Back To Top    #6
    sag365's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Ft. Myers, FL
    Posts
    42

    Re: Automation......Thought I Was Confused Before It Arrived

    OK. Same as the heater. Yes, there is a long cable that came with the pump. Have to find out where to connect in on here!

    Actually, way on the right of the Green Terminal Bar it says "Spare Input" for screws 9 and 10. Wonder if that is it?

    Thanks.
    16k gal, IG pool and spa, pool 29x14, pebble, 1983, 1.5" plumbing, Pentair Intelliflo VSP, Pentair Quad DE, Zodiac Aqualink Z4-PSi, AquaRite T15 SWG, Aquatherm AT115

  7. Back To Top    #7
    sag365's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Ft. Myers, FL
    Posts
    42

    Re: Automation......Thought I Was Confused Before It Arrived

    16k gal, IG pool and spa, pool 29x14, pebble, 1983, 1.5" plumbing, Pentair Intelliflo VSP, Pentair Quad DE, Zodiac Aqualink Z4-PSi, AquaRite T15 SWG, Aquatherm AT115

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,999

    Re: Automation......Thought I Was Confused Before It Arrived

    Yes, same as the heater. If that spare input is programmable to tell it that a VS pump is connected to it then that is likely the answer. Somewhere in that 80 page manual is probably one sentence that cryptically tells you how to control a VS pump. My experience with pool equipment manuals is that they are not clear and it takes a lot of digging to figure it out. Made worse because most of us rookies only do it once. Good luck.

    Maybe you will get lucky and someone who has a Zodiac will come along and know just what to do.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by sag365 View Post
    Yeah, there you go.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

  9. Back To Top    #9
    sag365's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Ft. Myers, FL
    Posts
    42

    Re: Automation......Thought I Was Confused Before It Arrived

    Got it!

    Pentair Green > Jandy Yellow
    Pentair Yellow > Jandy Black

    Thanks so much man! Great help. Gonna donate to this site! Been awesome.
    16k gal, IG pool and spa, pool 29x14, pebble, 1983, 1.5" plumbing, Pentair Intelliflo VSP, Pentair Quad DE, Zodiac Aqualink Z4-PSi, AquaRite T15 SWG, Aquatherm AT115

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,999

    Re: Automation......Thought I Was Confused Before It Arrived

    Sweet! You're welcome.
    TFP Moderator
    If TFP helped you or saved you money - Become a TFP Supporter! <--Click here
    2012 build and pics, 20k gal gunite, black onyx pebblesheen, OK flagstone, IntellifoVS, cart filter w/Pleatco, IC40 SWG, Solartouch, 5 12'x4' solar panels, HP50HA heat pump, 8mil solar cover, borates, TF-100 test kit, SONOS, Doheny's Discovery Robot, hot tub on bleach

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •