Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: iAquaLink stopped controlling heater temp setting

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Prosper, TX
    Posts
    41

    iAquaLink stopped controlling heater temp setting

    My iAquaLink (1.0) stopped controlling the temperature setting on my heater (Jandy LXi). I can still control everything else just fine from the iPhone app. I can switch it to Spa Mode, and I can turn the heater on and off, and those all work correctly. But when I adjust the pool or spa temperature from the iPhone app, it no longer changes the corresponding setting on the heater.

    Any idea where it might have lost it's marbles, and what I can do to fix it? This seems like it's going to be a simple thing. But I've looked through the settings and the manuals and I haven't been able to see it.

    Thanks!
    Mark

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: iAquaLink stopped controlling heater temp setting

    It never did. The heater temperature setting is either ignored, or should be set very high, depending on what kind of heater you have. The automation system turns the heater on and off based on it's own temperature setting and the thermostat in the heater is simply not used.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Prosper, TX
    Posts
    41

    Re: iAquaLink stopped controlling heater temp setting

    Jason -- Interesting. But I would swear that back when it was working I could change it on the app and it would change the temperatures that were displayed on the heater's control panel. I'm 98% sure. As you said though, maybe my particular heater works differently with the automation system than you explained.

    Come to think of it, I fired it up last week after the snow stopped falling and I manually set it to 102-F on the heater's control panel but the spa seemed to have a cap of 100-F on it. It never hit 102, and when it would hit 100, the heater would stop for a little while and then it would drop to 99 and the heater would kick back on, like it was thermostatically set to 100-F somewhere rather than 102-F. I knew the iOS app wouldn't matter, but i bumped it up to 103-F to make sure it wasn't in the way. So your point is interesting -- it's like there's another controller in there somewhere that has it capped at 100 right now. I can say without question we've used it many times to 101 or 102 back when everything was working properly.

    In any case, any idea how I can remotely control the temps again? Now that we're peeling the onion a little, it sounds like there are a lot of variables hereThis is sounding more and more like I'm going to end up placing a service call. Boooo.

    Mark

  4. Back To Top    #4
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: iAquaLink stopped controlling heater temp setting

    The heater can show two different things: the current water temperature and the heaters target temperature. If the heater is displaying the current temperature, it will track the temperature set remotely with a delay. The heaters target temperature is not used with an Aqualink, and is normally set very high so the heater will not shutdown short of the goal temperature.

    But as I said, with an Aqualink, the Aqualink is controlling the temperature using it's own temperature sensor, and the thermostat in the heater is not used.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Prosper, TX
    Posts
    41

    Re: iAquaLink stopped controlling heater temp setting

    Okay, that's all good information. But regardless of any of that, let me restate my actual concern:

    I have a setting in iAquaLink where I can adjust the temperature of the water in my pool or spa. That setting used to work fine, but now it no longer adjusts the temperature of the water in my pool or spa. I don't know what changed. Can anyone offer some advice on what I might need to troubleshoot?

    Thanks,
    Mark

  6. Back To Top    #6
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: iAquaLink stopped controlling heater temp setting

    There are two places to look. Either something is wrong with the wire that runs between the heater and the Aqualink, or the heater has forgotten that is should respond to remote control. The exact sequence used to program the heater to respond to remote control depends on how it is wired to the Aqualink. The instructions are in the manual starting on page 28.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Prosper, TX
    Posts
    41

    Re: iAquaLink stopped controlling heater temp setting

    Oh wow, that's very interesting. I honestly never thought to look in the heater's manual. It does say "REMOTE TSTAT" on the control panel on the heater as the book says. And I see it says what you said -- set it to SPA and turn the temp all the way up and leave it. Okay, so we're getting somewhere. The heater isn't the issue then. Now I have to figure out what device's thermostat is controlling the temp and capping it at 100-F. The heater is set higher than that (as it should be according to what we just read), and the iAquaLink is set higher than that. So it's got to be something else in there. I'll try go through the remote settings again and see if there's something I missed.

    Thanks again, Jason. This is good stuff. I appreciate your help!

  8. Back To Top    #8
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: iAquaLink stopped controlling heater temp setting

    If the Aqualink temperature control is working most of the time, and only failing above 100 degrees, it could be that one of the heaters safety cutouts has drifted out of spec and is shutting things off due to what it thinks if too high of a water temperature, when the actual water temperature is fine. Debugging this is a bit more tricky, as you have to take the cover off the heater and try jumping across each of the safety sensors in turn while the heater is failing to heat the water above 100 degrees.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    72

    Re: iAquaLink stopped controlling heater temp setting

    So I know I'm reviving an old thread here, but I found this and wanted to share a similar situation. I used to be able to control temp from my phone with iAquaLink. At some point, it stopped. But my PDA controls work perfectly. iAquaLink can still turn heater and everything else on and off, just not temp. Thoughts?

  10. Back To Top    #10
    skylar18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    299

    Re: iAquaLink stopped controlling heater temp setting

    Is it changing the display temperature on your PDA or iaqualink to what you want, but the actual temperature is not changing? If that is the case, you can have a bad thermostat on your heater. If it is not letting you change your temperature at all, even on the display, that I don't have an answer for.
    43 x 19 Gunite Pool w/ spa and fire pit, 19,000 gallons, Pebble Sheen Aqua Blue finish, Jandy 2 HP VS E-pump, Jandy 580 sq ft Cartridge Filter, Jandy LXI 400k Heater, Jandy Aquapure 1400 SWCG, 4 Jandy LED color lights, Aqualink PDA and Iaqualink, Polaris 280 with Booster Pump. Polaris 9550 Robot Cleaner. 1 HP Silencer Air Blower for Spa http://www.troublefreepool.com/threa...NAL-INSPECTION

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    72

    Re: iAquaLink stopped controlling heater temp setting

    Quote Originally Posted by skylar18 View Post
    Is it changing the display temperature on your PDA or iaqualink to what you want, but the actual temperature is not changing? If that is the case, you can have a bad thermostat on your heater. If it is not letting you change your temperature at all, even on the display, that I don't have an answer for.
    Here's where it gets more interesting. It always shows the change on the iAqualink to what you want when you scroll. Then you hit Set, and go back to the temp setting page, and you'll see that the pool set temp will revert to the old temp. Interestingly, it works perfectly fine for Spa temp, but not pool temp.

    PDA controls both perfectly.

  12. Back To Top    #12
    skylar18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    299

    Re: iAquaLink stopped controlling heater temp setting

    One more question, are you changing the temp on the app itself on your phone or ipad?, Or do you change it from the iaqualink web site when you connect to your pool or hit the web button on the app? I have found that every once in a while my settings do not change from the app, only the web. Couple times My wife and I have been out and we decide to turn on the hot tub before we drove home and were very disappointed when the spa was not heated up. Now when I really want to make sure it took, I do it from the web itself or the web connection from the app.
    43 x 19 Gunite Pool w/ spa and fire pit, 19,000 gallons, Pebble Sheen Aqua Blue finish, Jandy 2 HP VS E-pump, Jandy 580 sq ft Cartridge Filter, Jandy LXI 400k Heater, Jandy Aquapure 1400 SWCG, 4 Jandy LED color lights, Aqualink PDA and Iaqualink, Polaris 280 with Booster Pump. Polaris 9550 Robot Cleaner. 1 HP Silencer Air Blower for Spa http://www.troublefreepool.com/threa...NAL-INSPECTION

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    72

    Re: iAquaLink stopped controlling heater temp setting

    I usually use the app, but I just checked the web interface and see the same behavior. Cannot adjust pool temp from either app or web. Spa adjusts fine from both.

  14. Back To Top    #14
    skylar18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    299

    Re: iAquaLink stopped controlling heater temp setting

    That is weird....might be worth a call to Jandy. They have been very good when I have called them.
    43 x 19 Gunite Pool w/ spa and fire pit, 19,000 gallons, Pebble Sheen Aqua Blue finish, Jandy 2 HP VS E-pump, Jandy 580 sq ft Cartridge Filter, Jandy LXI 400k Heater, Jandy Aquapure 1400 SWCG, 4 Jandy LED color lights, Aqualink PDA and Iaqualink, Polaris 280 with Booster Pump. Polaris 9550 Robot Cleaner. 1 HP Silencer Air Blower for Spa http://www.troublefreepool.com/threa...NAL-INSPECTION

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Frisco/TX
    Posts
    7

    Re: iAquaLink stopped controlling heater temp setting

    Bump. Hi. I just had a new Aqualink RS installed with the iAqualink 2.0 WiFi. This replaced a broke PDA and aging board. Using the app, the Jandy heater will not switch from Spa to pool, and vice versa (but it says it has).
    The installer told me the board only turns the heater on and off and it work via a different temp sensor.
    The settings on the heater won't change. He said the PDA worked the same, I don't recall that.
    So Sunday we were away from the house and I wanted to heat the pool a few degrees, I set it from the app. When I got home the pool was far exceeding the pool set temp (93 instead of 88 and rising). The Jandy heater panel was on Spa mode (102), it seemed like the heater was not going to stop before hitting 102. What is the point of having pool and spa heat modes in the app if they don't change that on the heater? Or control the temp? This can't be correct....right? Thanks. Jim
    12K gal. In ground with raised spa. Mostly Jandy equip. Build in 2011.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •