Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: No LED's on my Chlorine Generator

  1. Back To Top    #1
    restoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Murrieta, CA 92563
    Posts
    97

    No LED's on my Chlorine Generator

    Not sure this is the right place to post this so if not, mods, please feel free to move.

    Anyway, I went out this morning to do my weekly check to make sure everything is working okay, and I noticed none of the LED's on my Aqua Rite 6D22 Chlorine Generator are lit up. No power, no "generating", etc... I DO have 3400 showing in the display for my salt content (see below), so it appears some of it's working correctly.

    I turned everything off and flipped the breakers off at the main circuit breaker panel at the side of the house, waited a few minutes then flipped them back on. The "No flow" led started blinking, but again, no power LED. After a few seconds of having the pool pump on, the "No flow" LED went off, so I'm assuming I just have a problem with the green side LED's?

    But if that's the case, I have no way to know if I'm generating or not.

    Any suggestions?

    Ed

    1) Pool built 2005, approx 17k gallons (Click HERE for a picture of this money pit!)
    2) Equipment: Pentair Intelli-Touch System i5, Pentair MiniMax NTLN Model 400DV Heater, Pentair CCP520 4 Cartridge filter, Aqua Rite 6D22 Chlorine Generator, Turbo-Cell T-Cell-15
    3) Pumps: Pool - Pentair Whisperflow WFE-8 (2 HP), Spa - Pentair Whisperflow WFE-6 (1.5 HP), Water Fall - Pentair Whisperflow WFE-3 (.75 HP), Vacuum: Hayward Navigator 925C

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: No LED's on my Chlorine Generator

    Might want to skim through this thread and see if this is pointing to the regulator going bad:
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/threa...-lights-not-on

    Sorry that thread is so long
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3
    restoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Murrieta, CA 92563
    Posts
    97

    Re: No LED's on my Chlorine Generator

    Well, I found the thread you referenced along with THIS ON YOUTUBE (and a few other similar threads), so I went ahead and ordered a new thermistor. I checked mine and it does seem to be a little burnt and brittle so I'll let you guys know if that fixes my problem or not.

    Ed
    1) Pool built 2005, approx 17k gallons (Click HERE for a picture of this money pit!)
    2) Equipment: Pentair Intelli-Touch System i5, Pentair MiniMax NTLN Model 400DV Heater, Pentair CCP520 4 Cartridge filter, Aqua Rite 6D22 Chlorine Generator, Turbo-Cell T-Cell-15
    3) Pumps: Pool - Pentair Whisperflow WFE-8 (2 HP), Spa - Pentair Whisperflow WFE-6 (1.5 HP), Water Fall - Pentair Whisperflow WFE-3 (.75 HP), Vacuum: Hayward Navigator 925C

  4. Back To Top    #4
    restoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Murrieta, CA 92563
    Posts
    97

    Re: No LED's on my Chlorine Generator

    Okay boys and girls. Got the new thermistor in the mail this morning and as I was removing the old one, it literally crumbled in my hands (see below). Installed the new one and although a little hard to see, the power and generating lights are now lit up like they should be. The greatest $3.00 I ever spent!

    Ed



    1) Pool built 2005, approx 17k gallons (Click HERE for a picture of this money pit!)
    2) Equipment: Pentair Intelli-Touch System i5, Pentair MiniMax NTLN Model 400DV Heater, Pentair CCP520 4 Cartridge filter, Aqua Rite 6D22 Chlorine Generator, Turbo-Cell T-Cell-15
    3) Pumps: Pool - Pentair Whisperflow WFE-8 (2 HP), Spa - Pentair Whisperflow WFE-6 (1.5 HP), Water Fall - Pentair Whisperflow WFE-3 (.75 HP), Vacuum: Hayward Navigator 925C

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: No LED's on my Chlorine Generator

    Fantastic!!!
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Placentia, ca.
    Posts
    12

    Re: No LED's on my Chlorine Generator

    I had just replaced my T 15 cell last summer and then this happened, no LEDs on the display and judging by the pic I have the same model as you. I see the price has gone up, I paid $2.00 for my thermistor a year ago. You would think pool service companies would learn this. They could charge you for the circuit board @ $300 and a replacement charge or charge a service fee and $50 to repair. looks like the repair is cheaper and makes the service guy more profit.
    18k gl IG pebble attached spa, Goldline aquarite T15, Hayward Superpump 2.0 hp, 500 sqft cartridge filter, Hayward H series 400,000btu heater. All new in 2002 except the pump.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    HIALEAH
    Posts
    1

    Re: No LED's on my Chlorine Generator

    I know it's an old thread but wanted to update details here since later models (2011+) chlorinators use a higher amperage (25A) current limiter (regulator) from the one shown earlier in this thread. Symptoms were exactly as described in this thread, so if you're handy with a soldering iron, and know some basic electronics, you'll save yourself $300 in a replacement board. Old one cracked open when I pulled it off the board. Well worth the $6 investment! Mouser Part #:995-AS32-2R025

    Mouser Current Limters.jpg20170820_200117.jpg






  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    61

    Re: No LED's on my Chlorine Generator

    Having the same problem. I ordered my part today so hopefully will be back up and running before the week-end.
    18' x 36' vinyl steel wall pool with deep end, 2 lights and 6' steps, main drain, SWG, Cartridge Filter, 320,000 BTU Rheem heater, 3/4HP 1 stage pump - Ontario, Canada

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    61

    Re: No LED's on my Chlorine Generator

    Worked like a charm! Even though there were no visible signs of a faulty part until it was cut off and split in half like above.

    When desoldering I used some 20 gauge copper wire dipped in flux to help pull the solder out of the board. This was my first experience and fortunately it went smooth. Thanks to everyone who contributed to this thread. The internet is an incredible tool.

    I now have one back-up part for next time. Plan to put a surge protector inline to help prevent this.
    18' x 36' vinyl steel wall pool with deep end, 2 lights and 6' steps, main drain, SWG, Cartridge Filter, 320,000 BTU Rheem heater, 3/4HP 1 stage pump - Ontario, Canada

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •