Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31

Thread: MaxFlo XL 1HP SP2307X102

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hayward, CA
    Posts
    78

    MaxFlo XL 1HP SP2307X102

    Quote Originally Posted by mas985 View Post
    That is a good pump but a slightly more efficient pump is the MaxFlo XL SP2307X102. Comes with unions which is a plus. I like the pump lid a little better than the SuperPump too.

    http://www.lockewell.com/index.php?m...dw7BoC63nw_wcB
    after 5 hours of research I found this is the best bang for the bucks. bought 1 MaxFlo XL 1HP SP2307X102 for $395 at poolgeek. thanks for the recommendation!
    15000 Gal Concrete IG Pool
    Hayward Max-flo XL 1HP 2 Speed Pump
    Star-Rite Posi Flow II Catridge Filter
    Aquabot 4WD Cleaner
    Hayward, CA

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hayward, CA
    Posts
    78

    Re: 2 speed or not 2 speed?

    hayward maxflo XL two speed pump arrived and it didn't come with a switch? i just found out my T104 timer will not work with it. can someone recommend an affordable timer to buy? could also use a guide/video on how to wire this. If i had known I'd gone for the variable speed w/ built in timer
    thanks,
    15000 Gal Concrete IG Pool
    Hayward Max-flo XL 1HP 2 Speed Pump
    Star-Rite Posi Flow II Catridge Filter
    Aquabot 4WD Cleaner
    Hayward, CA

  3. Back To Top    #3
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,482

    Re: 2 speed or not 2 speed?

    When you order the pump, you can usually ask for the switch. They don't always send it with the unit.

    But the T106 pairs with the T104 to change speeds at certain times.

    http://www.intermatic.com/en/Product...ries/T106.aspx
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  4. Back To Top    #4
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: 2 speed or not 2 speed?

    In many situations a manual speed switch is simpler. Wiring up a speed switch is very simple, and your existing timer will work (it just won't change speeds).
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hayward, CA
    Posts
    78

    Re: 2 speed or not 2 speed?

    Thank you both I will call them tomorrow and ask for the manual switch. Mostly going to use low speed I think.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hayward, CA
    Posts
    78

    Re: MaxFlo XL 1HP SP2307X102

    Pool geek said pump doesn't come with switch. Should I return it or where to get switch? What a bummer

  7. Back To Top    #7
    sargent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    291

    Re: MaxFlo XL 1HP SP2307X102

    You could wire in a 3 way house light switch in a water tight box between your timer and the motor. Or what I did was drilled a hole in the bottom of my timer box and installed a SPDT toggle switch. Something like this.
    14k gal IG vinyl, Jandy Flopro 1 hp up-rated, 2 spd pump, Hayward 325 sq ft cartridge filter, Circupool Si-40 SWCG

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: MaxFlo XL 1HP SP2307X102

    As sargent said, you can get a 3-way house light switch for a few bucks and it will work great.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hayward, CA
    Posts
    78

    Re: MaxFlo XL 1HP SP2307X102

    thank you for the SPDT suggestion I will get one of those! in the mean time I have tried to wire up the motor for low speed only through a T104 (dead motor) but it's not working.....can you take a look:
    I think i have a 220V breaker, 2 yellow wires going to the T104, then 2 yellow wires from T104 going to the motor input "A" and "L2" (common). I turn the T104 switch on, both yellow wires are hot (i check the motor input there is voltage) what am I doing wrong?
    here are the pics:
    image1.jpgimage2.jpgimage3.jpgimage4.jpgimage4.jpgimage5.jpg
    15000 Gal Concrete IG Pool
    Hayward Max-flo XL 1HP 2 Speed Pump
    Star-Rite Posi Flow II Catridge Filter
    Aquabot 4WD Cleaner
    Hayward, CA

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hayward, CA
    Posts
    78

    Re: MaxFlo XL 1HP SP2307X102

    15000 Gal Concrete IG Pool
    Hayward Max-flo XL 1HP 2 Speed Pump
    Star-Rite Posi Flow II Catridge Filter
    Aquabot 4WD Cleaner
    Hayward, CA

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: MaxFlo XL 1HP SP2307X102

    Do you measure 230V across the 2 yellow wires?
    I do not see anything wrong with the wiring.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hayward, CA
    Posts
    78

    Re: MaxFlo XL 1HP SP2307X102

    i tried to measure across the 2 yellow wires @motor or @T104 but it didn't have any voltage...then i checked across the red & black wires (from breaker) also no voltage, but there is 120v across red/white or black/white. i'm a bit confused now.
    15000 Gal Concrete IG Pool
    Hayward Max-flo XL 1HP 2 Speed Pump
    Star-Rite Posi Flow II Catridge Filter
    Aquabot 4WD Cleaner
    Hayward, CA

  13. Back To Top    #13
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: MaxFlo XL 1HP SP2307X102

    That is what I was thinking. I am wondering if that breaker panel is capable of a 240V circuit. Across the 2 yellow (assuming they were Line 1 and Line 2 of a 240V circuit) or across the red and black should measure 240V. The fact that you measured 0 means they are the same phase (like two Line 1).

    So your Red and Black are being fed by the same phase from the main breaker panel. What do the bus bars under the breakers in that subpanel look like? I am going to assume that the Red wire only feeds the top breaker (tandem in this case) and the Black only feeds the bottom breaker (tandem in this case). With the rod between the 2 middle switches it tries to make a 240V circuit, but it appears that the connections of the red and black in the main panel are not correct.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hayward, CA
    Posts
    78

    Re: MaxFlo XL 1HP SP2307X102

    what's a bus bar? what you said makes a lot of sense -but this seems strange, the setup has been like this for my old pump since forever which stopped running few weeks ago, same T104 with 2 yellow/1green wire going into the old motor that i removed as i assumed it broke. and i have no idea where the breaker's red/black wires are coming from, is it possible they don't come from the main house breaker panel? here's the old pump connection:
    aquaflow-magnatek old pump.JPG
    15000 Gal Concrete IG Pool
    Hayward Max-flo XL 1HP 2 Speed Pump
    Star-Rite Posi Flow II Catridge Filter
    Aquabot 4WD Cleaner
    Hayward, CA

  15. Back To Top    #15
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: MaxFlo XL 1HP SP2307X102

    The wires supplying the sub panel must be coming from another breaker panel somewhere.

    Did you add the black wire going to the motor? Was there only 2 yellow and a green before?

    Given your questions, and the fact we are dealing with electricity, might be time to call in a professional. Clearly the sub-panel is not currently supplied with 240V and we can not easily figure out your setup over the internet.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hayward, CA
    Posts
    78

    Re: MaxFlo XL 1HP SP2307X102

    the 2 yellow lines are wired to middle switches so it's trying to create 240V as you said. here's the old motor Attachment 34546

    - - - Updated - - -

    yeah i added the black wire to L1 so i could add a DPDT switch once it arrives. it's not being used at the moment.
    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle View Post
    The wires supplying the sub panel must be coming from another breaker panel somewhere.

    Did you add the black wire going to the motor? Was there only 2 yellow and a green before?

    Given your questions, and the fact we are dealing with electricity, might be time to call in a professional. Clearly the sub-panel is not currently supplied with 240V and we can not easily figure out your setup over the internet.
    15000 Gal Concrete IG Pool
    Hayward Max-flo XL 1HP 2 Speed Pump
    Star-Rite Posi Flow II Catridge Filter
    Aquabot 4WD Cleaner
    Hayward, CA

  17. Back To Top    #17
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,337

    Re: MaxFlo XL 1HP SP2307X102

    The way they have the breakers in the sub panel wired, it will supply 230 volts to the pump provided the yellow wires are running to the timer.

    You should be able to read 230 volts between the red and black wires on top of the breakers. If you can't, I suspect that the breaker feeding this box is tripped. You need to find that breaker.

    Also I don't personally like using a 3-way light switch to change the speeds on the pump. I like using a switch with a center off position.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hayward, CA
    Posts
    78

    Re: MaxFlo XL 1HP SP2307X102

    Quote Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
    The way they have the breakers in the sub panel wired, it will supply 230 volts to the pump provided the yellow wires are running to the timer.

    You should be able to read 230 volts between the red and black wires on top of the breakers. If you can't, I suspect that the breaker feeding this box is tripped. You need to find that breaker.

    Also I don't personally like using a 3-way light switch to change the speeds on the pump. I like using a switch with a center off position.
    Ok, I'm going to find that son of a ...breaker, i have yet to find it (house built 1966, main panel in garage, any other likely locations you think of for this mysterious breaker? going to check crawlspace next). though would they still have 125v on each of the red/black wires as i measured with the white wire, IF the originating breaker was tripped?
    for the switch you mean a DPDT?
    thanks for all your help everyone, it is much appreciated.
    15000 Gal Concrete IG Pool
    Hayward Max-flo XL 1HP 2 Speed Pump
    Star-Rite Posi Flow II Catridge Filter
    Aquabot 4WD Cleaner
    Hayward, CA

  19. Back To Top    #19
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: MaxFlo XL 1HP SP2307X102

    The fact that you are measuring 120V on the red and black with white indicates that the breaker feeding them is not tripped. The fact that you measure 0V between the red and black indicates that they are on the same phase (incorrectly wired at the source ... not sure how a bad breaker could cause this).

    Dave is saying he prefers a DPST toggle switch that has an OFF in the middle for selecting the speeds. If you have the timer nearby, seems easy enough to throw that switch if you want it turned off and just use a regular DPST switch to pick the speed. Plus if you use a toggle with a off in the middle, you could turn that off and the pump would be off, but one leg of the power could still be live in the motor ... could be dangerous if you forget to turn off the breaker when doing any work.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  20. Back To Top    #20
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,337

    Re: MaxFlo XL 1HP SP2307X102

    Given that they rigged the "common" trip on the breakers in the sub panel with what looks like a piece of wire, I wouldn't be surprised if the one in the feeder panel was done the same way (or not even set up for common trip). If that's the case you could have one breaker tripped and one not, Which would allow you to read 120 volts to neutral from both the black and red wires, but not between them, due to it backfeeding through the timer/pump motor.

    Once you find that feeder breaker you'll know more about what's going on.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •