Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Aquarite Panel Question-Diagnostic numbers

  1. Back To Top    #1
    tam87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    New Port Richey, FL
    Posts
    28

    Aquarite Panel Question-Diagnostic numbers

    Hi all, Looking for someone who might know if this is significant regarding my AquaRite Panel--little history, new pool/SWG Turbo Cell T3, Aquarite panel this summer (July). Had an algae problem for MONTHS chlorine ALWAYS registerd 0. I found this site and I quickly cleared up my pool with SLAM (with bleach) and now know how to maintain with my Taylor kit Pool looks awesome! Heck with the pool store!
    I did post this forum post a week or so ago because after a successful SLAM I was back down to 0 FC! and feeling confused? SWG /pump running 8 hrs a day at 50% , then up to 100% output still 0 FC
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/threa...k-down-to-0-FC!

    I SLAM'ed again just to be sure I didn't misread something and passed all 3 tests for sure including overnight loss.
    Current readings at noon today(Full sun on pool all day until about 4PM)
    FC 5.5
    7.6 ph
    80 TA
    170 CH
    CYA 80 ish maybe closer to 90 (I know slightly high)

    I currently have my SWG at 100% output for 8 hours and chlorine seems to be dropping faster than I think it should. Im shooting to keep around 6 but cant keep it there without adding bleach. Also, Its been a LONG time since we have had to add salt--It doesn't seem to be using much/any salt.
    So...here is my technical question (I do IT for a living so Im very detailed)-In stepped through the diagnostic panel here are my numbers
    1. 58-pool temp brrrr
    2.cell voltage 29.5
    3. cell current 2.24
    4. output 100P
    5. Insta. salin -3200
    6. AL0
    7. r1.59 software rev.
    8. t-3 which is correct I have the T3 turbo cell.
    3200 on panel salt reading

    Seems like my voltages/current are off from what the manual I have says are the normal ranges. Does anyone know if this is significant? Just trying to figure out why it seems like we are not producing chlorine.
    Manual states that "voltage would be 22.0-25 when generating otherwise 30-35"
    current would be "4.5-7.8 when generating, otherwise 0"

    I plan on calling the manufacturer if after a week I am still not keeping chlorine-(Im not adding any more bleach currently) in this pool as I know its not organic issue at this point.
    Brand new (9/2014) Fiberglass 7500 gallon with 6 person spa spillover, Aquarite SWG/ Turbo Cell rated to 15,000 gallons, Hayward pump and cartridge filter. Electric Hayward heater for spa only.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    tam87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    New Port Richey, FL
    Posts
    28

    Re: Aquarite Panel Question-Diagnostic numbers

    Update** Just walked out to check on diagnostic numbers again about 30-45 min after upping to 100% output and readings are as follows:
    1. temp 58
    2 voltage 33
    3. current 0
    4. 110P
    5.instant salinity -0
    6.A10

    Soooo. That seems to indicate it isn't generating chlorine any longer based on the manual?? But the generating light is green??
    Brand new (9/2014) Fiberglass 7500 gallon with 6 person spa spillover, Aquarite SWG/ Turbo Cell rated to 15,000 gallons, Hayward pump and cartridge filter. Electric Hayward heater for spa only.

  3. Back To Top    #3
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Aquarite Panel Question-Diagnostic numbers

    Those diagnostic readings (high voltage, low current) suggest either very cold water, calcium scaling on the cell plates, or the cell is nearing the end of it's lifetime. Calcium scaling can be confirmed/ruled out by visually examining the cell plates. White/chalky residue on the plates means calcium scaling.

    In this case I am inclined to suspect that your issue is cold water. SWGs don't work nearly as well as usual when the water is that cold. Of course it could be several things at once, as calcium scaling and and old cell could also be contributing to the issue.

    Current of 0 usually means the cell has turned off for some reason, rather than a specific problem. I would ignore that reading for the moment.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  4. Back To Top    #4
    tam87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    New Port Richey, FL
    Posts
    28

    Re: Aquarite Panel Question-Diagnostic numbers

    Thanks for the info! Cell is only 6 months old and we cleaned it 2 weeks ago per manufacturers instruction with mild acid wash. Visually it look s spotless from what we could see.

    Im giving it a week and see what my numbers look like.
    Brand new (9/2014) Fiberglass 7500 gallon with 6 person spa spillover, Aquarite SWG/ Turbo Cell rated to 15,000 gallons, Hayward pump and cartridge filter. Electric Hayward heater for spa only.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: Aquarite Panel Question-Diagnostic numbers

    The T-3 is a fairly small cell (low number of plates). That means less power use and lower amps. Also the colder water reduces the power use.

    The other thing to check is that the diagnostic readings have stabilized. When power is first sent to the cell, the amps increase and the volts decrease until they reach their production rates. This usually takes about 30 to 60 seconds.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    tam87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    New Port Richey, FL
    Posts
    28

    Re: Aquarite Panel Question-Diagnostic numbers

    Knew this would happen--Called Goldline Aquarite technical support line to discuss my issue of possible issue with unit as we are again down to 0 free chlorine with running at 50% output for 8 hours a day!! She told me my water chemistry is off and that I likely have phosphates and or nitrates which are consuming all my chlorine. She ran me through the diagnostics on my unit and stated everything is fine and that I need to get my water tested at a pool store and get my chemistry "straightened out" (cough ahem). I do hope there is nothing wrong with the unit, but I cannot understand why I have NO free chlorine at this point. Since I have passed a SLAM and overnight free chlorine test, I feel pretty confident that I don't have organics at this point-- but don't see a way around figuring out what is going on. Looks like I am in the borg and must comply
    Brand new (9/2014) Fiberglass 7500 gallon with 6 person spa spillover, Aquarite SWG/ Turbo Cell rated to 15,000 gallons, Hayward pump and cartridge filter. Electric Hayward heater for spa only.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: Aquarite Panel Question-Diagnostic numbers

    Try this:

    Move switch to off for five minutes.
    Turn output to 50%
    Move switch to "Auto".
    Within about 30 seconds, you should hear a click.
    Once you hear the click, wait 60 seconds and then go through and record the diagnostic readings.

    Note that neither phosphates nor nitrates "consume" chlorine. Once you complete a slam, you should test a least once per day and maintain fc at a minimum of 7.5% of the cya (7 ppm)for at least a week. Thereafter, you can go as low as 5 % (4.5 ppm).

    Your pool is small, so it shouldn't take much chlorine to keep up with the demand unless the fc falls below the minimum. The cold water and the size of the cell are reducing the system output.

    For water below 60 f, I would suggest switching to liquid chlorine until the water warms up.

    Your previously reported current of 2.24 amps is well within the range for the t-3 cell. The range is 1.3 to 4.5 amps. As long as the amps and volts are within spec, the system is working.

  8. Back To Top    #8
    tam87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    New Port Richey, FL
    Posts
    28

    Re: Aquarite Panel Question-Diagnostic numbers

    Ok Did the above and here are readings:
    1- 64
    2. 29.4
    3. 2.44
    4. 51P
    5. -3200
    6. a1-0
    7. r1.58
    t-3
    *I have been checking the readings throughout the day constantly and many times when I check #3 is 0 and #2 is 33 not sure if that's normal or not...
    Brand new (9/2014) Fiberglass 7500 gallon with 6 person spa spillover, Aquarite SWG/ Turbo Cell rated to 15,000 gallons, Hayward pump and cartridge filter. Electric Hayward heater for spa only.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: Aquarite Panel Question-Diagnostic numbers

    The water temp is Ok. The volts are a little high. The amps are good. It's normal for the amps to periodically go to 0. Whatever the percentage is set for, that's how much time the unit runs. For example, at 50 %, half of the time the unit will be making chlorine and half of the time it will be not producing. When not producing, the amps are zero and the volts are about 32 - 33.

    Everything seems fine with your system. I think that you just need to increase production to maintain the minimum fc level.

    I suggest that you do another Slam. Once that's done, maintaint fc at 10 % (9 ppm) for one week, then at 7.5% (7 ppm) for one week and thereafter at a minimum of 5 %.

    Note that it's very important to never allow the fc t get below the minimum for your cya.

    One odd thing, one software revision shows 1.59 and one shows 1.58. I'm guessing that it's a typo or someone replaced the circuit board?

    Note 2: The T-3 is probably undersized for your pool and runtime. A larger cell would have been a better choice. You could control the production by the percentage in 1 % increments at the lower levels.

  10. Back To Top    #10
    tam87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    New Port Richey, FL
    Posts
    28

    Re: Aquarite Panel Question-Diagnostic numbers

    yes it was a typo its 1.59 software.

    Thanks so much James!! Will do on the chlorine levels-great suggestion. I guess I just expected too much too soon--learning everyday here! My pool looks so awesome! One of the last times I was at my PB picking up more chemicals a month ago I mentioned how I just wanted my pool to look good and be clear and she stated don't worry no ones pool looks good right now in winter! Ha!
    Brand new (9/2014) Fiberglass 7500 gallon with 6 person spa spillover, Aquarite SWG/ Turbo Cell rated to 15,000 gallons, Hayward pump and cartridge filter. Electric Hayward heater for spa only.

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Divin Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Longview, Texas
    Posts
    4,926

    Re: Aquarite Panel Question-Diagnostic numbers

    I hope you get it worked out tam,
    You certainly have the right guys helping you.

    and my pool in the middle of winter is blindingly sparkly! So "ha" is right!


    Quote Originally Posted by tam87 View Post
    yes it was a typo its 1.59 software.

    Thanks so much James!! Will do on the chlorine levels-great suggestion. I guess I just expected too much too soon--learning everyday here! My pool looks so awesome! One of the last times I was at my PB picking up more chemicals a month ago I mentioned how I just wanted my pool to look good and be clear and she stated don't worry no ones pool looks good right now in winter! Ha!
    Divin Dave,
    IG Vinyl, 15' x 30', 3 1/2' - 6' deep, Oval, ~15K gal, Intelliclor IC40, Intelliflo VS pump, Clean and Clear 420 Filter, auto-fill-disabled, Retrofit LED Color Light, Dolphin Nautilus Robot, TF100 Test Kit, Taylor K1766 Salt Test Kit, Tftestkit Pressure Gauge.
    www.tftestkits.net Experience- it's what's learned just after you needed it most !!

  12. Back To Top    #12
    tam87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    New Port Richey, FL
    Posts
    28

    Re: Aquarite Panel Question-Diagnostic numbers

    Just wanted to give an update on this--everything with my SWG seems to be fine! After manually adding bleach for a week or so to keep numbers of FC up based on recommendations in this post my numbers started staying stable and SWG keeping FC where I want it to based on my CYA level. Water looks great and very happy with the end result after all of your advise. No more pool store for us!
    Thanks again to everyone!
    Happy swimming!!
    Brand new (9/2014) Fiberglass 7500 gallon with 6 person spa spillover, Aquarite SWG/ Turbo Cell rated to 15,000 gallons, Hayward pump and cartridge filter. Electric Hayward heater for spa only.

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Re: Aquarite Panel Question-Diagnostic numbers

    Good work. Thanks for the update.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •