Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Pentair EasyTouch 8 wiring help

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Cypress, TX
    Posts
    35

    Pentair EasyTouch 8 wiring help

    I've just purchased a Pentair EasyTouch 8 load center (without SCG) and doing some research before tackling the install. I've read many of the previous threads about wiring one up and just wanted to confirm a few things. My current power from a sub-panel has 2 legs of 240V running to the timers, and 1 leg of 120V running to the pool/spa lights.

    My equipment is Pentair Intelliflo main pump, (2) Pentair Whisperflo pumps for waterfalls, Booster pump for Polaris, Starite natural gas heater, Glacier GPC 210 45 GPM Chiller.

    My first question is for breakers in the EasyTouch. What besides the pool lights are required/need to be on a GFCI breaker? I was reading a post earlier that recommended to wire the Intelliflo up directly to the breaker and the COM port instead of the relay. Should my Intelliflo be on a GFCI breaker and if so, is this true for the rest of the pumps?

    Thanks in advance for any help.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Pentair EasyTouch 8 wiring help

    Welcome to TFP!

    The main pump does need to be on a CGFI breaker. The other pieces of equipment are recommended to be on a CGFI breaker, but not required.

    The IntelliFlo does get wired directly to the breaker, and is controlled through a data cable.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Cypress, TX
    Posts
    35

    Re: Pentair EasyTouch 8 wiring help

    Thank you Jason!
    And I run the Primary Control Transformer to a 15 Amp non GFCI breaker correct?

  4. Back To Top    #4
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Pentair EasyTouch 8 wiring help

    That is fine.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Cypress, TX
    Posts
    35

    Re: Pentair EasyTouch 8 wiring help

    Is it possible to use a 240V breaker for more than 1 pump? Say combine both waterfall Whisperflo pumps? I would just run to the same breaker from the individual relays correct? If I don't do this, I will run out of room for breakers in the load center.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Pentair EasyTouch 8 wiring help

    Yes and no. It is not recommended, but it is allowed if the peak amps (sum of both pumps amps) is below the rating for the circuit breaker. The problem is that pumps have large startup current spikes, which can sometimes trip the breaker if they both startup at the same time.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Cypress, TX
    Posts
    35

    Re: Pentair EasyTouch 8 wiring help

    So I should just mount a second sub panel next to the ET panel for the extra space? Thanks for all your help Jason.

  8. Back To Top    #8
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Pentair EasyTouch 8 wiring help

    That is one good approach. You do have a fair amount of equipment.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Cypress, TX
    Posts
    35

    Re: Pentair EasyTouch 8 wiring help

    Jason - How about putting both my spa light and pool light on the same GFCI 15 Amp breaker?

  10. Back To Top    #10

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    441

    Re: Pentair EasyTouch 8 wiring help

    Quote Originally Posted by Bdurdin65 View Post
    Jason - How about putting both my spa light and pool light on the same GFCI 15 Amp breaker?
    If they are LED yes, if they are incandescent then you are fine as you don't go past 1200Watts
    20X40 30,000 gallon gunite pool

  11. Back To Top    #11
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Pentair EasyTouch 8 wiring help

    That is fine.

    By the by, all of these rules vary just a little from place to place. They make a new edition of the code every couple of years, and different jurisdictions use editions of the code from different years. If you need to pass an electrical inspection you should either hire an experienced local electrician to double check everything, or talk to the inspector beforehand to make sure you are doing everything correctly.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Cypress, TX
    Posts
    35

    Re: Pentair EasyTouch 8 wiring help

    Yes I planned on getting a licensed electrician to come by and give me the "OK" with everything.
    One more thing - Since my filter pump is an Intelliflo which uses the COM cable and it won't connect to the Main Pump relay, can I use that relay for one of my Whisperflo pumps that go to a waterfall?

  13. Back To Top    #13
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Pentair EasyTouch 8 wiring help

    You can unplug the "pump" relay from the filter pump connection on the main control board, and instead plug it into the solar booster pump/aux extra position, which will allow you to use the relay for something else. This has some limitations if you have solar heat, but without solar heat it is very flexible. There are some other conceivable approaches if you do have solar, but they get progressively more limiting and are much less likely to be useful.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Cypress, TX
    Posts
    35

    Re: Pentair EasyTouch 8 wiring help

    No I don't have solar heat. I'll keep that in mind should I need the extra relay.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •