Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: How Long to run the pump a day?

1. Back To Top    #1

How Long to run the pump a day?

I'm down in southwest Parrish,Fl. and its been kind of chilly here this winter about 50-70 degrees and we are not using the pool now so I'm keeping it heated to about 60 for now till it warms up more. Since I'm new to owning a pool here I have only been filtering it about 6-7 hours a day. haven't had to do much to keep it clear so far just putting in some bleach once a week and some Muriatic acid trying to lower the PH down a bit after some rain.
    Last test from the pool store the TC 5.0. FC 5.0,CC 0.0,pH 8.0 acid demand 2, TA 90 CH375 Stabilizer 140 total dissolved solids is 1,100 ppm.That is According to their tests though.I just ordered my own Taylor K2006 kit the other day and a new filter.I was just wandering if what I'm doing for now is OK or should I run the filter for a longer or shorter time.I'm sure when it gets hotter and we start using it Ill have to do it longer.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: How Long to run the pump a day?

The short answer is as little as it takes. There is no set requirement other than getting enough chlorine in the pool so as long as you do that, you can run it for as short as you want.

I only run about 4 hours in the heat of the summer (100+) and have had no issues what so ever. I would probably run shorter if my SWG could keep up.

Pump Run Time
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

3. Back To Top    #3

Why keep the pool heated when you're not using it? Start with 6 hours in summer and see how your water likes it. Even split up run times if you have a timer on it. Down size that if you can.