Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Confused on Chlorine Levels

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    3

    Confused on Chlorine Levels

    I purchased a used spa and I am currently trying to get the water balanced and the correct amount of sanitizer. So I have been doing a on of research on the internet (thanks chemgeek, waterwizard, nitro etc), but I am confused about some of the Free Chlorine numbers.

    So my first question is Dichlor says 4-5 ppm, yet they say reentry is prohibited unless its below 3ppm....why? I don't understand this...

    Most test strips and manufactures recommend 3-5 ppm for a spa. But they don't say at what CYA levels. From my understanding with 0 CYA, wouldn't this be a very harsh amount of chlorine and be hard on the equipment, swim suits etc?

    For instance I bought a Chlormaker DO, they state maintain 4-5ppm. They say nothing about CYA.

    Should I add 30 ppm CYA like some advise and do I need to up the free chlorine levels higher then 4-5 ppm in order to compensate for the reduced chlorine effectiveness?

    Thanks!

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Confused on Chlorine Levels

    Welcome to TFP!!!

    I would advise you to completely ignore what ever numbers are listed on the pool products and just read and follow the recommendations on this forum. You are absolutely correct that the required FC level is a function of CYA level. And that with 0 CYA, a 3-5ppm of FC is going to be VERY harsh.

    Have you read the sticky at the top of this forum about how to use chlorine in the spa. I recommend you use the Dichlor then bleach method as described there.

    Ask questions if you still have any.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    3

    Re: Confused on Chlorine Levels

    Yes I have read it. Very good information. I am basically using that method, but instead of using Bleach, I am using the Chlormaker DO SWG. So I used Dichlor to build up my CYA, then switching to the SWG.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Friendswood, TX
    Posts
    320

    Re: Confused on Chlorine Levels

    You could also just buy CYA and place it in a sock and in the skimmer. That's what I did. That way you don't get anything else in the tabs.
    ~Paul
    19x40 IG including 10' BE, 18,000 gal, plaster, 48 SF DE, 1.5HP pump, AquaPure SWCG, Ozonejoe 30MR, Rockwaterfall, LED light, TF-100 Fill date 11/21/2014
    My ODK Build | My Pool Build | If You're From Texas Vote Here

  5. Back To Top    #5

    TFP Guide

    Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Hudson, WI
    Posts
    2,602

    Re: Confused on Chlorine Levels

    Welcome to the forum Icecactus
    '70s IG Vinyl 32K gal, Lazy L, Hayward SuperPump 1.5hp 120V, S240 Sand Filter W/DE
    Solar Blanket, Well Water, Borax Added, TF-100 tester. ? too cold
    1979, 275gal Conway Emerald Spa P-100-2, ES-2 Spa Pack, bromine floater, indoor
    TF-100, Best test kit - TFTestkits.net
    Please help keep the lights on, become a TFP Supporter!

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Confused on Chlorine Levels

    Ok, well it sounds like you are on the right track, so maybe I am unclear what you actual questions were in the first post.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Rafael, CA USA
    Posts
    12,082

    Re: Confused on Chlorine Levels

    Quote Originally Posted by icecactus View Post
    So I used Dichlor to build up my CYA, then switching to the SWG.
    Yes that is a fine approach and as was mentioned you can also add pure CYA directly instead of using Dichlor but either way works. Just note that an SWG is unlikely to provide enough chlorine to handle bather load from a soak unless it's an oversized SWG and you are soaking every day or two. If you don't soak frequently, then you need to set your SWG output level to maintain a background level of chlorine and need to manually add bleach after each soak to oxidize the bather waste.

    Note that most people prefer to start their soak with around 1-2 ppm FC so that they don't smell as may chloramines during the soak. It's up to you. The higher level is more likely to last through the soak and would be important for disinfection if you were soaking with strangers (or anyone who might be sick).
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •