Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Testing pink, not red

1. Back To Top    #1

Palm Desert, CA

Testing pink, not red

I'm new to testing and want to make sure I'm not doing something wrong. When I test for CH the test turns pink, not red. When I test for TA it also is pink, not red. I'm assuming I reach the endpoint when the next drop I add does nothing to deepen the color. Is this pink correct or maybe I have old reagents (I purchased the test kit a few months ago). My test kit says "when the color turns red"... not pink, so I'm confused. Thanks.
    Last edited by LisaDLu; 02-04-2015 at 09:03 PM. Reason: posted in wrong section
    17,000 gallon inground pool; Plaster redone January 2015; Pentair Cartridge Filter; SWG; Age of pool unknown (house built in 1973); Taylor K-2006 Test Kit.

2. Back To Top    #2
    Silver Spring, MD

Re: Testing pink, not red

The exact shade of red/pink is not important. Anything in the red/pink family is fine.

The exact shade of color you see depends on several other levels, and does not affect the test.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)

Typically it looks Barbie pink. But if the FC level is high, it can go to yellowish.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

4. Back To Top    #4

Quote Originally Posted by Richard320 View Post