Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Necessary to brush above ground spa? And, drain/refill comments.

  1. Back To Top    #1
    bbrock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Livermore, CA
    Posts
    535

    Necessary to brush above ground spa? And, drain/refill comments.

    Hi you all,
    I am shopping for a new pool brush, and after one year, it finally hit me, am I supposed to be brushing my spa? I follow the 3 step system using bromine. Spa and water are in good shape. I don't see any algae or things bringing my attention to brush it. My spa is a polyethylene shell. I guess never thought it was necessary to brush an above ground spa.

    Also, to be frank, I have not drained the water since I refilled it last April 2014. While it states to replace every 3-4 months, I am still keeping balanced clear water despite this. One + thing is I have at least saved water. Since the water looks good, clean, chem is maintained, and spa is not heavily used, I figure what is the point of refilling so frequently.

    Tx for any help.
    19k gal IG plaster, built '70s, probably resurfaced in '80s-'90s; Blue Haven Hayward filter C4520BHMB (Filbur FC-1275 cartridges); Hayward MaxFlo sp2302 VSP 1.5hp; 6 solar panels 288. sq. ft. total (142"x47.5" ea.) on 1 story hm; Pentair Compool LX220 Solar Controller; FlowVis flow meter; Maytronics Dolphin S200; AG 300 gal AquaTerra spa; TF-100 & Speedstir; gone: Pentair Challenger 3/4 HP 1 speed; Polaris 280

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Rafael, CA USA
    Posts
    12,082

    Re: Necessary to brush above ground spa? And, drain/refill comments.

    With an acrylic or polyethylene shell you do not brush it. You may wipe the area near the water surface as that tends to collect filmy substances and some biofilm can form above the water line even if you disinfect the spa water itself (below the water line should be OK given the consistent disinfection).

    How often you need to change the water is a function of bather load. In a lightly used spa, you may be able to go a year between water changes. Because you are using bromine and not using Dichlor-only with chlorine you have no buildup of CYA. So for your 300 gallon spa, the Water Replacement Interval (WRI) would be Days = (2/9) x (300) / (# Person-Hours Per Day). So if you were only soaking 11 person-minutes per day (76 per week), then that's one year between water changes. How often are you using the spa each week? How many people using it? How long are the soaks? Is the water hot (104F) during the soaks?
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

  3. Back To Top    #3
    bbrock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Livermore, CA
    Posts
    535

    Re: Necessary to brush above ground spa? And, drain/refill comments.

    As of lately it seems as though I'm using it once per week, if that (pretty sad), maybe about 20 minutes or so. Water temp is 102. It's only me using it.

    Tx for ur help Chem Geek.
    19k gal IG plaster, built '70s, probably resurfaced in '80s-'90s; Blue Haven Hayward filter C4520BHMB (Filbur FC-1275 cartridges); Hayward MaxFlo sp2302 VSP 1.5hp; 6 solar panels 288. sq. ft. total (142"x47.5" ea.) on 1 story hm; Pentair Compool LX220 Solar Controller; FlowVis flow meter; Maytronics Dolphin S200; AG 300 gal AquaTerra spa; TF-100 & Speedstir; gone: Pentair Challenger 3/4 HP 1 speed; Polaris 280

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Rafael, CA USA
    Posts
    12,082

    Re: Necessary to brush above ground spa? And, drain/refill comments.

    Your bather load is exceptionally low so yes you should be able to keep your water clear for a very long time and not need to change the water for years, assuming you properly maintain the spa between soaks (i.e. never let the disinfectant get to zero, at least not for very long).
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

  5. Back To Top    #5
    bbrock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Livermore, CA
    Posts
    535

    Re: Necessary to brush above ground spa? And, drain/refill comments.

    Tx Chem Geek.

    Also, I assume that it's normal to have to top off the spa every so often, right? Maybe about every two - three weeks+ or so I top it off due to what I suspect is the normal loss of water from evaporation. The spa is covered, but I leave it at 102 constantly so I could use it whenever I want. It's normal to have to bring the water level back up, right? The water is constantly being heated & steam is being produced. I don't see any visible leaks anywhere.
    19k gal IG plaster, built '70s, probably resurfaced in '80s-'90s; Blue Haven Hayward filter C4520BHMB (Filbur FC-1275 cartridges); Hayward MaxFlo sp2302 VSP 1.5hp; 6 solar panels 288. sq. ft. total (142"x47.5" ea.) on 1 story hm; Pentair Compool LX220 Solar Controller; FlowVis flow meter; Maytronics Dolphin S200; AG 300 gal AquaTerra spa; TF-100 & Speedstir; gone: Pentair Challenger 3/4 HP 1 speed; Polaris 280

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Rafael, CA USA
    Posts
    12,082

    Re: Necessary to brush above ground spa? And, drain/refill comments.

    Yes, your loss is likely evaporation since the high water temperature can have steam escape from the sides unless the spa cover is tightly sealed along the edge.
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

  7. Back To Top    #7
    bbrock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Livermore, CA
    Posts
    535

    Re: Necessary to brush above ground spa? And, drain/refill comments.

    Tx for all your help in this thread Chem Geek!
    19k gal IG plaster, built '70s, probably resurfaced in '80s-'90s; Blue Haven Hayward filter C4520BHMB (Filbur FC-1275 cartridges); Hayward MaxFlo sp2302 VSP 1.5hp; 6 solar panels 288. sq. ft. total (142"x47.5" ea.) on 1 story hm; Pentair Compool LX220 Solar Controller; FlowVis flow meter; Maytronics Dolphin S200; AG 300 gal AquaTerra spa; TF-100 & Speedstir; gone: Pentair Challenger 3/4 HP 1 speed; Polaris 280

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •