Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Leave Cleaner in Pool

1. Back To Top    #1

Leave Cleaner in Pool

Hello all-

I'm a newbie to this whole pool thing - so this may be a dumb question. However, is it appropriate to leave the pool cleaner in the pool when it's not running? If so, how long is appropriate?

I have a 2-wheel Poolverneugen "The Pool Cleaner" (works wonderfully).

Thanks!
    14,000 Gallon In-Ground Quartz Plaster
    Cartridge Filter, Pentair Intelliflo VS Pump with 420 SqFt Pentair Clean and Clear Cartridge Filter
    Pentair MasterTemp Heater with Zodiac Blower for Spa, Poolverneugen Automatic Cleaner

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Leave Cleaner in Pool

It is generally fine to leave a pressure or suction side cleaner in the pool. However it should be removed when you are swimming.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

I previously had a Polaris 280 and my PB said I could keep it in the water as long as I wanted....just take it out when we want to swim.

However, in the first 2 years I had it, it went back to the shop for complete rebuilds on 3 separate occasions. On the 3rd time, the lady at the pool store said "You must keep this in your pool all the time. These things break down more frequently when you do that."

I don't know if I believe her (and other people probably have different perspectives), but if I were to do it all again, I would probably take it out when I didn't need it. Just my $0.02 worth....
    23' x 37' IG 18.5k gallon SWG w/ raised spa, Build Thread -->Here
    Wet Edge® Pearl Matrix®, Hayward® SwimClear™ 525 ft², Hayward® Goldline Controls® PS-8
    4x Hayward® TriStar™ pumps, Paramount PCC2000® ICS, TF-100 w/Speedstir

4. Back To Top    #4