Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Intermatic CA3750 Z-wave contactor

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    112

    Intermatic CA3750 Z-wave contactor

    I have an Intermatic automation system (PE635 and PE953 handheld) and have recently added the CA3750. The CA3750 is wired to handle my spa blower with one circuit and a waterfall with the other (2 X SPST). I'm a little confused on how to program it with the Z-wave.

    Currently, I can turn the blower on and off with the include switch on the front of the device, however, it does not turn on the motor. The label on the front says when in the 2XSPST setting, you can use the switch for Off/Off and On/Off. This is confusing to me as it should be Off/Off, On/Off, Off/On, and On/On? In any case, I can't get the motor to turn on....the blower just turns on and off.

    With my handheld, I am able to get the spa blower to turn on and off using a scene, but I'm not sure how to program the motor. As I understand it, when you have it set to 2XSPST, you get two different Z-wave devices.

    I'm not very familiar with Z-wave, so any help would be greatly appreciated!!

    Bill
    30,000 plaster in-ground pool with spa; 2.5HP single speed Centurion pump; Raypak RP2100 propane heater; Polaris 280 with pump, waterfall with separate pump, Triton II commercial sand filter; TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Intermatic CA3750 Z-wave contactor

    No clue on Z-Wave operation.

    The manual is fairly clear how the local button works, it either turns the first switch on/off, or it turns both switches on/off at the same time. The local button does not have any option to control the second switch separately from the first.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    112

    Re: Intermatic CA3750 Z-wave contactor

    I'm assuming it then needs to be in 1XDTSP to turn both switches on or off at the same time? Since mine is in 2XSPST, I can't control the 2nd switch?

    Bill

    Quote Originally Posted by JasonLion View Post
    No clue on Z-Wave operation.

    The manual is fairly clear how the local button works, it either turns the first switch on/off, or it turns both switches on/off at the same time. The local button does not have any option to control the second switch separately from the first.
    30,000 plaster in-ground pool with spa; 2.5HP single speed Centurion pump; Raypak RP2100 propane heater; Polaris 280 with pump, waterfall with separate pump, Triton II commercial sand filter; TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir

  4. Back To Top    #4
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Intermatic CA3750 Z-wave contactor

    You can't control the second switch from the from panel button. But you are supposed to be able to control it via Z-Wave.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    112

    Re: Intermatic CA3750 Z-wave contactor

    I called Intermatic yesterday and inquired how to program the CA3750 with the PE953 handheld. Intermatic just got back to me and said it is not possible. The device can only be used to control a single circuit.....not both circuits of the CA3750. This does not make sense to me. Need help! Thanks.
    30,000 plaster in-ground pool with spa; 2.5HP single speed Centurion pump; Raypak RP2100 propane heater; Polaris 280 with pump, waterfall with separate pump, Triton II commercial sand filter; TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir

  6. Back To Top    #6
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Intermatic CA3750 Z-wave contactor

    Many people seem to be having the same problem you are having. It seems that some Z-Wave remotes recognize both switches, but most don't. I saw a mention that the CA5500BR remote might work correctly with both switches, but I can't confirm that.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Intermatic CA3750 Z-wave contactor

    It appears that Intermatic didn't implement the Z-Wave protocol completely in the 953 so it's not really a true Z-wave remote.

    As Jason said, the CA5500BR is reported to operate both channels, but since I don't have one at my disposal, I can't say with 100% certainty that it will.

    Do you have any other Z-Wave devices?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    112

    Re: Intermatic CA3750 Z-wave contactor

    I have new issues now. I was trying to sync the 953 handheld with a Aeon S2 Z-stick. I was finally able to get them to sync and the display on the 953 when blank. All I had was a blank backlit display. I've removed and reinstalled the batteries and tried to enter learn mode with no success. Intermatic has been no help so far. There does not appear to be anyway to reset the device.

    At this point, I can't recommend the Intermatic Z-wave equipment. I have called Intermatic several times and virtually no one there can answer even basic questions. Everyone refers me to "Frank" who seems helpful but overwhelmed. They clearly don't have any bench strength.
    30,000 plaster in-ground pool with spa; 2.5HP single speed Centurion pump; Raypak RP2100 propane heater; Polaris 280 with pump, waterfall with separate pump, Triton II commercial sand filter; TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •