Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Adding a SPDT HI/LO Toggle Switch

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Folsom, CA
    Posts
    11

    Adding a SPDT HI/LO Toggle Switch

    Hi,

    Is there a way to add a HI/LO toggle switch directly onto a B2982 dual speed pump motor?

    http://www.lockewell.com/index.php?m...oducts_id=2245

    I'm running the pool equipment through an Aqualink RS4 but need to switch the pump speed manually.

    Thanks.
    Inground pool and spa - 16,000 gallons
    PebbleTec, SWG, Solar, Waterfall Sta-rite Max-E-Pro 1.5hp
    Separate pumps for solar and spa, Aqualink RS4 controller
    Cartridge Filter, The Pool Cleaner (suction)

  2. Back To Top    #2
    bobodaclown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Lakeland, FL
    Posts
    2,351

    Re: Adding a SPDT HI/LO Toggle Switch

    17K Kidney Shaped Pool Concrete (Diamond Bright) Pool, 3/4 hp 2 speed 115V Sta-rite Duraglas PEA5D-180L/P2R5D-181L (Impeller C105-92PS Diffuser C1-216P), 1.5 piping, Pentair CC100 Filter , Heat Siphon 100K BTU Heat Pump Pool Heater, Flow meter Blue White Flowmeter Model No. F-30150P, Hayward Astrolight SP0581N, SWCG CalimarTitanium Edition TE45 , Dolphin Nautilus Plus with CleverClean, Lakeland Florida

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Folsom, CA
    Posts
    11

    Re: Adding a SPDT HI/LO Toggle Switch

    Thanks Bob. So I should be able to drill a hole the the back cover? Then hook up the correct wires to the switch (once I find them)? is it that easy?

    http://www.lockewell.com/index.php?m...oducts_id=2245
    Inground pool and spa - 16,000 gallons
    PebbleTec, SWG, Solar, Waterfall Sta-rite Max-E-Pro 1.5hp
    Separate pumps for solar and spa, Aqualink RS4 controller
    Cartridge Filter, The Pool Cleaner (suction)

  4. Back To Top    #4
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Adding a SPDT HI/LO Toggle Switch

    It is very easy, you just need to make sure there is enough room behind where ever you drill the hole the switch mounts in.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  5. Back To Top    #5
    bobodaclown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Lakeland, FL
    Posts
    2,351

    Re: Adding a SPDT HI/LO Toggle Switch

    Yes, the box comes with a knockout, and I ordered the switch from digikey. '

    Here's a couple other solutions if you wanted to use a wall type switch:
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/threa...iring-Question
    http://www.justanswer.com/electrical...oggle-swi.html
    17K Kidney Shaped Pool Concrete (Diamond Bright) Pool, 3/4 hp 2 speed 115V Sta-rite Duraglas PEA5D-180L/P2R5D-181L (Impeller C105-92PS Diffuser C1-216P), 1.5 piping, Pentair CC100 Filter , Heat Siphon 100K BTU Heat Pump Pool Heater, Flow meter Blue White Flowmeter Model No. F-30150P, Hayward Astrolight SP0581N, SWCG CalimarTitanium Edition TE45 , Dolphin Nautilus Plus with CleverClean, Lakeland Florida

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Folsom, CA
    Posts
    11

    Re: Adding a SPDT HI/LO Toggle Switch

    I think I have the wiring down. I just want to make sure I get the right switch.

    So, will this switch work? http://www.digikey.com/product-detai...054-ND/1835155

    or do I need a switch rated for 250v?
    Inground pool and spa - 16,000 gallons
    PebbleTec, SWG, Solar, Waterfall Sta-rite Max-E-Pro 1.5hp
    Separate pumps for solar and spa, Aqualink RS4 controller
    Cartridge Filter, The Pool Cleaner (suction)

  7. Back To Top    #7
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Adding a SPDT HI/LO Toggle Switch

    Something like this one is probably more appropriate.

    It needs to be rated for 250 volts if your pump is 230 volts, can be rated 125 or 250 volts if your pump is 115 volts.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •