Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: iaqualink IQ-20RS installation

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7

    iaqualink IQ-20RS installation

    I'm looking to make my pool more efficient and easier to access.
    I just bought an Intellifo VS Pump to replace my 2hp Pentair one.
    I also purchased an IQ20-RS iaqualink upgrade to replace my Aqualink RS4 rev I controller.

    My question is, how easy is it to replace the PCB board for the IQ20-RS? It doesn't look very hard but all the documentation and even support says you should have a qualified pool expert install it. :/
    I'm fairly technical but just haven't dealt much with pool equipment before.

    I've also been quoted $500 for a qualified tech to come out and install/program the Intellifo VS pump and IQ20-RS upgrade. Does that sound reasonable?

    Thanks guys!

  2. Back To Top    #2

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,636

    Re: iaqualink IQ-20RS installation

    If you can fly a screwdriver, and if you have ever set up your own home wireless network, i'll bet you can do it.

    Read the destructions too.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak, Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7

    Re: iaqualink IQ-20RS installation

    Thanks for the information.
    I can manage a screwdriver. lol
    I deal with wireless access points all day at work so I should be ok with that as well.

    Will give it a try this weekend.
    16 x 36 IG Pool & Spa with Pebbletec. 3' - 8' deep.
    Aqualink RS 4 Controller, Pentair 2hp pump, Pentair 400k btu heater, DE Filter

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Austin TX
    Posts
    10

    Re: iaqualink IQ-20RS installation

    Very easy to do the board swap. I don't recall any issues when I did mine. I did hard wire my iaqualink though instead of using WIFI. I went through the menus on my old PDA to write everything down first then reprogrammed it all using iOS afterwards. I don't think you'll have any problem other than perhaps WIFI signal strength or something like that.
    _____
    18k gal in-ground plaster pool+spa, 2HP Jandy pump, 460 sqft Jandy cartridge filter, AquaPure 1400 SWG,
    3/4HP cleaner pump, Polaris 280 cleaner, Jandy LX heater, 2HP air blower, FlowVis check valve, iAqualink, TF-100 test kit

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Livermore, CA
    Posts
    20

    Re: iaqualink IQ-20RS installation

    I just upgraded my aqualink with the IQ900-RS. It took me literally 15 minutes to do the board swap and get my pool back up and running. Probably another 30 min getting the iAqualink network controller setup. I was turning equipment on and off with my phone in less than an hour. It's really not that hard at all. The reason they say you must be a pool professional is that you're working next to live 120V circuits. I'd say if you're comfortable replacing an electrical outlet in your home you're probably qualified.
    15k gunite pool with attached spa; iAqualink controller; Intelliflo VF pump; hayward cartridge filter; Heliocol solar panels; Hayward H250 natural gas heater

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Frisco, TX
    Posts
    21

    Re: iaqualink IQ-20RS installation

    Quote Originally Posted by bsk997 View Post
    I'm looking to make my pool more efficient and easier to access.
    I just bought an Intellifo VS Pump to replace my 2hp Pentair one.
    I also purchased an IQ20-RS iaqualink upgrade to replace my Aqualink RS4 rev I controller.

    My question is, how easy is it to replace the PCB board for the IQ20-RS? It doesn't look very hard but all the documentation and even support says you should have a qualified pool expert install it. :/
    I'm fairly technical but just haven't dealt much with pool equipment before.

    I've also been quoted $500 for a qualified tech to come out and install/program the Intellifo VS pump and IQ20-RS upgrade. Does that sound reasonable?

    Thanks guys!
    Did you end up getting the IQ20-RS? and if so how many relays does it come with? How was the installation process?

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    12

    Re: iaqualink IQ-20RS installation

    The IQ20-RS does not come with any relays.
    It can connect/control 8 relays, but the relays are already part of your system.
    ~15000 Gal Saltwater Pool. Jandy Controls. Too many kids.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Covina,CA
    Posts
    22

    Re: iaqualink IQ-20RS installation

    bsk997: So how did the upgrade turn out? Can you provide any details about how you connected the VS to the IQ20-RS? I have exactly the same setup and am about to undertake the install. I'm confused about how to connect the VS.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7

    Re: iaqualink IQ-20RS installation

    Sorry for the lack of update everybody.
    I did end up getting the IQ20-RS. It ended up being stupid easy. Just unscrewing the old board with all the connections and putting in the new one in the same spots as before. I was hesitant to do it because of the electrical stuff but I turned off the Power center and the breaker to the pool when I did it. Setup to the network was easy as well.
    Pretty cool to control everything from the phone.

    Sorry wysocki, I had somebody come install the VS Pump so I cant help you there.
    16 x 36 IG Pool & Spa with Pebbletec. 3' - 8' deep.
    Aqualink RS 4 Controller, Pentair 2hp pump, Pentair 400k btu heater, DE Filter

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •