Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: RayPak Wiring Help

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    413

    RayPak Wiring Help

    My new Raypak is due to arrive on Monday. It's replacing my 4 year old Pentair Mastertemp.

    The Mastertemp is connected to my Easytouch 4 and it looks like the wiring for the Raypak is similar. It will be a 240v connection.

    Anything unusual I should be aware of? I've wired things into the Easytouch before and unless there is something unusual I should be able to handle it.

    By the way, there are two sets of wires going into the Mastertemp from the Easytouch. One is the two wire communication cable and the other is in a conduit that contains a black (hot) and red (hot) wire and two green wires. I wasn't expecting two green (ground) wires but they are there. The Raypak manual suggests that there should only be one green (ground) wire. Any ideas?
    9,200 gal. Gunite Luna Quartz French Grey pool with spill over spa, two fountains on tanning ledge (rarely used)
    Pentair Whisperflo 2HP, Pentair CCP Cartridge 420 Sq. Ft., Polaris 280 with booster pump
    Pentair EasyTouch 4, RayPak LoNox 266k Natural Gas heater, Aqua Rite SWCG T Cell 9, Borates, TF-100 test kit

  2. Back To Top    #2

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,435

    Re: RayPak Wiring Help

    There's nothing unusual about the Raypak that would stump you with the wiring. Do you have a grounding wire connected to the outside ground lug on the Mastertemp? Is maybe that second green wire connected to it?
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  3. Back To Top    #3
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: RayPak Wiring Help

    There should be separate grounding and bonding connections. Ground should be green and in the same conduit as the hot wires. The bonding wire should be bare copper and provided separately. I can imagine the bonding wire being green and in the conduit, even though that would be incorrect.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    413

    Re: RayPak Wiring Help

    Thanks for the replies. There is a separate bare copper bonding wire that is connected to the outside of the Mastertemp and it runs to all other powered devices on my equipment pad (the Easytouch, the SWG and the pumps). But there also are two green wires inside the plastic conduit going into the heater.

    One green wire goes with the black and red wires into the connections inside a metal box in the heater. The other green wire is attached to a screw near the metal box and it is visible when removing the outer plastic side of the heater. I'm guessing that for some reason there are two grounding wires. Not sure why.
    9,200 gal. Gunite Luna Quartz French Grey pool with spill over spa, two fountains on tanning ledge (rarely used)
    Pentair Whisperflo 2HP, Pentair CCP Cartridge 420 Sq. Ft., Polaris 280 with booster pump
    Pentair EasyTouch 4, RayPak LoNox 266k Natural Gas heater, Aqua Rite SWCG T Cell 9, Borates, TF-100 test kit

  5. Back To Top    #5

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,435

    Re: RayPak Wiring Help

    I've never seen this around me. Not sure what they are doing with the extra ground.
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: RayPak Wiring Help

    It might be to ground two different parts of the heater?

    Or, possibly, one goes to the grounding bus bar in the panel and one goes to another ground?

    Is one wire solid green and the other green with a yellow stripe?

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    413

    Re: RayPak Wiring Help

    Quote Originally Posted by JamesW View Post
    It might be to ground two different parts of the heater?

    Or, possibly, one goes to the grounding bus bar in the panel and one goes to another ground?

    Is one wire solid green and the other green with a yellow stripe?
    They both are solid green wires. When I connect the new heater I'll look to see where the green wires are connected to the Easytouch panel. Haven't done that yet.
    9,200 gal. Gunite Luna Quartz French Grey pool with spill over spa, two fountains on tanning ledge (rarely used)
    Pentair Whisperflo 2HP, Pentair CCP Cartridge 420 Sq. Ft., Polaris 280 with booster pump
    Pentair EasyTouch 4, RayPak LoNox 266k Natural Gas heater, Aqua Rite SWCG T Cell 9, Borates, TF-100 test kit

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    413

    Re: RayPak Wiring Help

    Update: The wiring was a piece of cake. If I hadn't had to move the transformer to the left side of the unit it would have taken me about 15 minutes to wire the unit. The plumber disconnected the electrical connections before I had a chance to solve the second green wire mystery, but with the conduit disconnected it was clear that there were only the two hot wires and one green ground wire sticking out of the old conduit. Not sure about that second green wire that appeared to be coming from the Easytouch into the old Pentair. It must have been some internal wiring in the Pentair heater that I incorrectly thought was coming in from the Easytouch. In any event, it's working fine.

    I hope this one lasts longer than my old Pentair Mastertemp.
    9,200 gal. Gunite Luna Quartz French Grey pool with spill over spa, two fountains on tanning ledge (rarely used)
    Pentair Whisperflo 2HP, Pentair CCP Cartridge 420 Sq. Ft., Polaris 280 with booster pump
    Pentair EasyTouch 4, RayPak LoNox 266k Natural Gas heater, Aqua Rite SWCG T Cell 9, Borates, TF-100 test kit

  9. Back To Top    #9
    dumbcluck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    long beach
    Posts
    670

    Re: RayPak Wiring Help

    It was likely an internal bond wire from motor to casing.
    -Jimbo- My pool was full of dirt and trees. Now it's full of water and children!
    20k gallon inground pool, 18" raised spa 7' round, 8 jets, 3" spa plumbing. Pentair intelliflo 3hp vsp, Easy touch 4 w/ ic 40, CCP 420 cartridge filter, Raypak 407a w/ cupro nickel, Screen logic 2, Pentair intelliph, spa side remote, Pentair 5g color lights pool and spa, TF-100 test kit with speed stir and Dolphin Oasis Z5

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •