Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Pentair Multiport Valve -- Handle Won't Turn

1. Back To Top    #1

Pentair Multiport Valve -- Handle Won't Turn

Brand Newbie here. Starting to try and do things myself here, and hopefully displace my monthly service.

Just got an email from my company, that the "handle on the filter the broken and must be replaced" with a quote for $350. Doing a little digging here it seems likely that I can either just replace the handle, or the Top assembly, without replacing the filter. The top assembly seems like it would be pretty simple (after powering down pump, of course) -- just remove the screws, take off the assembly and replace? Should I try taking it off first before getting the part and seeing if there is some debris or something blocking?

Also, if I need to replace the assembly, any advice on where to order from (Leslie's seems to be double what I see what I think is the right part), and do I need to be doing something (other than reading the part number off of the attached pic) to ensure I get the right part?

Appreciate the help!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by jon777; 12-08-2014 at 08:49 AM. Reason: removed image

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: Pentair Multiport Valve -- Handle Won't Turn

Welcome to the forum.

Disassemble the multiport by removing the screws and inspect the "innards" It is a pretty simple device and any issues will probably be obvious. Most common problem seem to be the "spider gasket" or "wagon wheel" gasket that you will find on the inside. Let us know what you find.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Hmmm.... Pool company was here yesterday for normal cleaning. Not sure if they did something or not, but was able to get the latch up and turning. It's a little cranky, but everything seems ok now.