Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Can I use this relay for my SuperFlo 1HP?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
    Posts
    28

    Can I use this relay for my SuperFlo 1HP?

    Trying to figure out my wiring and I think this is my thinking and plan. (Yes, I think this is my thinking.)

    I only need high speed for the heater and can filter on low speed. I can have my heatpump (HP727 Control Board http://www.viconics.com/DATA/TEXTEDOC/HP727-04.pdf ) control the high/low switch with a relay and my Intermatic t104 control the total daily pump run time (unless the pool needs heat at which time the heat pump will turn the high side on). How does this look?

    Attachment 33568

    I was thinking I'd set the filter time to 4 hours but since the pump will run high speed whenever it wants to provide heat I should be able to set it to the minimum (2hr) and let it run at low speed otherwise. The I set the low speed on the Intermatix T104 and it runs for a set amount of time each day. Questions. Does this look correct? Will this relay work? ( http://www.ebay.com/itm/MAGNECRAFT-7...item58b66bf728 ) If not what should I get? Anything I'm forgetting? It is 3am and a baby is crying.

    Thanks,
    Richard
    20'x40' - 25,000 gal Gunite with 600 gal Spa, Nirvana E140 - Requires 55gpm flow, Sand Filter - Requires 60gpm flow, Chlorine Pump, BBB method, Partial Sun in North Florida with a Failing enclosure and too many pine trees around.
    Four 1.5" Intake lines from Skimmer, Main Drain, Spa and Cleaner (The Pool Cleaner), Output - Three 1.5" Lines to 3 Pool Jets, 1 Spa Jet, Spa Fountain Water Feature

  2. Back To Top    #2
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,482

    Re: Can I use this relay for my SuperFlo 1HP?

    Is that relay inside the Heat Pump really a SPDT relay or are you adding that relay? If that runs the heat pump too, that will not be enough amperage. It may not be enough for the pump either.
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
    Posts
    28

    Re: Can I use this relay for my SuperFlo 1HP?

    I would be adding a relay. Page 4 of the Circuit Board shows a relay for the pump but it is not there now there are only two terminal spades. Attachment 33569

    I realize they have a DPST but this is listed as the 'typical' installation. The superflo pump is 6amps at 240v.
    20'x40' - 25,000 gal Gunite with 600 gal Spa, Nirvana E140 - Requires 55gpm flow, Sand Filter - Requires 60gpm flow, Chlorine Pump, BBB method, Partial Sun in North Florida with a Failing enclosure and too many pine trees around.
    Four 1.5" Intake lines from Skimmer, Main Drain, Spa and Cleaner (The Pool Cleaner), Output - Three 1.5" Lines to 3 Pool Jets, 1 Spa Jet, Spa Fountain Water Feature

  4. Back To Top    #4
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,482

    Re: Can I use this relay for my SuperFlo 1HP?

    Even though the SuperFlo is only 6A, you need a relay that can withstand the start up current of an induction motor which is several times the rated amperage. The T104 is rated at 40 amps and I would go with a relay that is at least that large or choose a relay that is specifically designed for an induction motor. My concern is that relay may not last very long but it is something you could research.

    Also, normally the T104 relay comes before the SPDT relay for the low/high switching so both speeds have a single on/off timer control. The heat pump can still control the high/low relay as you have shown.
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Isaac-1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SW Louisiana
    Posts
    6,711

    Re: Can I use this relay for my SuperFlo 1HP?

    I am not sure of your installation position, but you may want to take a look at the RIB family of switch/relay modules, they are mounted with wiring pigtails in cases that easily interface with conventional electrical panels.

    Ike

    http://www.functionaldevices.com/building-automation/


    p.s. many are available for well below retail on ebay
    Indoor 20x40 35,000 gallon vinyl pool with 1.5 HP 2 speed Jandy FloPro pump, Hayward EC75 Perflex DE filter, 11 4x12 Techno-Solis solar panels w/ Aquasolar controller, Aquabot Turbo T Robot Cleaner. Also LMI metering chlorine dispenser pump and HotSpring Jetsetter
    I use and endorse TFtestKits TF-100 from http://tftestkits.net
    ~Remember TFP counts on your donations to keep this site ad free~

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
    Posts
    28

    Re: Can I use this relay for my SuperFlo 1HP?

    The relay I had selected is a 20amp at 240v and from my understanding a 6amp pump will require up to 3 times the amperage at startup. The recommended breaker is 20amp so I'm thinking the relay should be adequate as well at 20 amp. The problem with hooking the high and low through the T104 is the heater checks the pool temp every 4 hours by turning the pump on for 15 minutes. If the water is below temp it runs to maintain temperature. If there is no flow (T104 off) then there will be a flow error requiring the heat pump to be reset the next morning. Something I'm getting tired of with the current setup.

    I have considered placing the heat pump on the timer as well and doing the T104/T106 setup. I'm not certain if it would be better for the pool to lose temp overnight and have the heatpump run when the air temp and sun are up or if it is more efficient to maintain the temp overnight.

    I did consider the RIB relays and may go that route. The only added benefit I could find is I would avoid placing spade terminals on all but two wires. Am I missing something on these relays?

    As far as the wiring goes, do this look legit or am I missing something big?

    Thanks for the input, this is all very helpful.
    20'x40' - 25,000 gal Gunite with 600 gal Spa, Nirvana E140 - Requires 55gpm flow, Sand Filter - Requires 60gpm flow, Chlorine Pump, BBB method, Partial Sun in North Florida with a Failing enclosure and too many pine trees around.
    Four 1.5" Intake lines from Skimmer, Main Drain, Spa and Cleaner (The Pool Cleaner), Output - Three 1.5" Lines to 3 Pool Jets, 1 Spa Jet, Spa Fountain Water Feature

  7. Back To Top    #7
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Can I use this relay for my SuperFlo 1HP?

    The specs for the relay linked to in the first post says it is rated for a 1 HP motor when used at 240 volts, so that should be alright.

    Your wiring diagram leaves the L1/common connection to the pump live at all times. This is not preferred, though it is allowed and is done sometimes.

    It is slightly more efficient to not run the heater at night, as long as there is enough time for it to catch up during the day. However, the difference is small. The largest disadvantage of this approach is that the pool won't be up to temperature in the morning, as it will have some catching up to do to get back to temperature.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Isaac-1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SW Louisiana
    Posts
    6,711

    Re: Can I use this relay for my SuperFlo 1HP?

    Without looking at the detailed specs this does look logically correct, I used a RIB 2401SBC for a similar application (turnning pump up to high for my solar heater when the solar heater switched on) , the RIB relay is mounted on a spare knock out on my solar controller box and one of the switches on it allows me to manually switch the pump to high even with the solar is off.
    Indoor 20x40 35,000 gallon vinyl pool with 1.5 HP 2 speed Jandy FloPro pump, Hayward EC75 Perflex DE filter, 11 4x12 Techno-Solis solar panels w/ Aquasolar controller, Aquabot Turbo T Robot Cleaner. Also LMI metering chlorine dispenser pump and HotSpring Jetsetter
    I use and endorse TFtestKits TF-100 from http://tftestkits.net
    ~Remember TFP counts on your donations to keep this site ad free~

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
    Posts
    28

    Re: Can I use this relay for my SuperFlo 1HP?

    Issac,

    When would you choose to switch to high speed when you are not needing additional heat? A water feature or spa running off the pump?
    20'x40' - 25,000 gal Gunite with 600 gal Spa, Nirvana E140 - Requires 55gpm flow, Sand Filter - Requires 60gpm flow, Chlorine Pump, BBB method, Partial Sun in North Florida with a Failing enclosure and too many pine trees around.
    Four 1.5" Intake lines from Skimmer, Main Drain, Spa and Cleaner (The Pool Cleaner), Output - Three 1.5" Lines to 3 Pool Jets, 1 Spa Jet, Spa Fountain Water Feature

  10. Back To Top    #10
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Can I use this relay for my SuperFlo 1HP?

    Manual vacuuming, adding DE to a DE filter, and backwashing the filter are all times when you might want to run on high speed.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
    Posts
    28

    Re: Can I use this relay for my SuperFlo 1HP?

    Sorry I didn't answer this earlier. The heatpump is on it's own 50 amp breaker.
    20'x40' - 25,000 gal Gunite with 600 gal Spa, Nirvana E140 - Requires 55gpm flow, Sand Filter - Requires 60gpm flow, Chlorine Pump, BBB method, Partial Sun in North Florida with a Failing enclosure and too many pine trees around.
    Four 1.5" Intake lines from Skimmer, Main Drain, Spa and Cleaner (The Pool Cleaner), Output - Three 1.5" Lines to 3 Pool Jets, 1 Spa Jet, Spa Fountain Water Feature

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •