New Pool Owner - Pinellas County, Florida

Oct 1, 2014
Pinellas Park
Just moved into a new home with a 7k gallon fiberglass pool that is about 10 years old. It has a newer Sta-Rite SuperMax pump and Pentair Cartridge filter. It currently has a tablet/stick chlorinator. The previous owner did a fantastic job from what I can see keeping the pool clear, but im a rookie when it comes to a pool and the inner workings. I attached a couple pics.

A couple quick questions:
1) For the chlorinator, what kind of tablets/sticks should I use and how many should be out in the canister at one time (more during summer than winter??).

2)What do the valves do on my current setup and what is the optimal setting I should keep it on versus the setting needed for the pool vac (Hayward).

I welcome any suggestions you guys can add in addition to my questions. You guys are the experts!

Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_0924.jpg
    IMG_0924.jpg
    56.9 KB · Views: 71
  • IMG_0925.jpg
    IMG_0925.jpg
    51.2 KB · Views: 71
  • IMG_0926.jpg
    IMG_0926.jpg
    67.7 KB · Views: 70
  • IMG_0927.jpg
    IMG_0927.jpg
    57.1 KB · Views: 71
Welcome to TFP !!
You've come to the right place to learn everything about maintaing your pool. First thing I'm going to recommend is take some time and do some reading in Pool School. Here are a couple of good articles to start you out with.
ABC'S Of Pool Water Chemistry
How To Chlorinate Your Pool
The next thing your going to need to maintain your pool is one of these Test Kits. It's a must have for accurate test results. Very small investment and a must have to maintain your pool on your own. When you need advice on your water chemistry the results from one of these kits will be the ones we trust to give you accurate advice from. As you do some reading on the forum you'll see we don't trust pool store testing very much. Their methods of pool care and ours are totally different.