New here and new pool owner: Am I doing this right?

Sep 11, 2014
DFW, TX
Hi! We just had a pool built (never had one before so I'm a complete newbie). The pool builder had been maintaining the water to get it up to balance...but they have now handed the pool water care over to us. I have ordered the "big" test kit to get all the info I need which should arrive on Thursday. In the mean time I just have the following results:

FC: 1
TC: 1
CC: 0
PH: 7.5
TA: 60

I inputted the numbers I have into PoolMath. It's saying to Add chlorine and Add baking soda. The pool builders left some Dichlor, should I use that to raise the FC?

*hopefully my pool info will show up in my signature.

:wave: Welcome to TFP!!!

We need to know the CYA level before we can say if it is okay to use the Dichlor. If that is what they have been using and if they added some CYA initially, then you have to be careful that the CYA does not get too high.

What is the CH level? That is important to know if your water is balanced (although I am going to guess this is fine since you have hard water).

I would leave the TA as is and just start using bleach to maintain at least 2ppm of FC until your kit shows up.

Too, bad you did not find us sooner as you could have saved your money on that ozonator listed in your signature ... not value added, in fact it will cost you money in electricity and it will require you to add more chlorine because it breaks the chlorine down.

Okay, I'll just use regular bleach until I get the big kit and find out the CYA....I'm pretty sure that is what they were using to chlorinate the pool.

Also, I forgot to mention (but you probably figured it out), there is no salt in the water yet. I guess the pool is to cure for 30 days before we do that...and they said we may as well wait until spring cause SWG only work on warmer water. Is that correct?

Thanks!