Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Water line tile grout?

1. Back To Top    #1

Water line tile grout?

Hello TFP members, I am an architect designing a new single-family residence with a pool in Los Angeles and would like to know what grout people are using for the water line tile. We have had mosaic tile come loose in the past on some projects and are looking for the best water line tile grout on the market. Our office has specified C-Cure "MP Non-Sanded 923" in the past which seemed to work. Is there a product any experts would recommend? Maybe a Laticrete grout? Anyone used C-Cure in the past? Lastly, is it better to used mosaic tile with a mesh backer or does it not matter? Any thoughts are appreciated. Thanks in advance for your help.
    Pool Size: 9,000 gallons
    Pool Type: In ground, plaster
    Filter: Pentair 4000 Series D.E. Filter
    Pump: 1 HP Pentair Whisperflo WFE-4
    Heater: Sta-Rite Max-E-Therm 200
    Salt System: ECO-matic ESC 36
    Pool Cover: CoverStar, motorized cover

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Water line tile grout?

Doing some more research in the office I found a spec from a pool consultant... this seems like a pretty good spec. The construction budget for the house is about $8 million (about $125k) for the pool, so money is not a problem. We just want the most bulletproof spec money can buy. Thanks.

Pool-Specs.jpg
    Pool Size: 9,000 gallons
    Pool Type: In ground, plaster
    Filter: Pentair 4000 Series D.E. Filter
    Pump: 1 HP Pentair Whisperflo WFE-4
    Heater: Sta-Rite Max-E-Therm 200
    Salt System: ECO-matic ESC 36
    Pool Cover: CoverStar, motorized cover

3. Back To Top    #3

In the Industry

Any latex-modified tile grout will perform fine. An epoxy based grout is even better but much more difficult to install and, therefore, fewer tradesmen that can do a nice job with it.