Variable Speed Pumps

hAltonJones

LifeTime Supporter
Sep 14, 2014
Scottsdale, AZ
I'm relatively new to the pool world and it seems everyone from my barber to the baker insists a variable speed pump is much more cost effective. However, given my simplistic reasoning, it doesn't make a lick of sense. Please help.

Assuming the purpose of pumping the water through a filter is to "clean" the water, then the volume of water pumped through the filter to clean it to a given level should be essentially the same regardless of how fast you:confused: put it through the filter. If you pump 1,000 gallons of water through the filter, it shouldn't matter too much if you pump it through in one hour or two hours (neglecting channeling, etc.) A centrifugal pump has a speed at which it is most efficient from an energy consumption standpoint. Therefore, with a variable speed pump, it - by definition - isn't always running at its peak efficiency. If you cut the volumetric flow in half, you have to run twice as long to get the same volume filtered. However you're now running less efficiently.

Why not have a single speed pump set to run at its most efficient point and keep life simple? What do I say to my barber and baker?

Cheers.

You are missing the fact that the power consumption is less at lower speeds. For a 2 speed pump, on low it moves half the water, but uses 1/4 the power. So even if you double the run time, you saved 50% on power.

Also, you really may not need to double the run time and still have a clean pool.

Finally, at lower flow rates, filters actually do a better job catching debris.

Make it even simpler. You often would like a speed for slow filtration and then a high volume speed for vacuuming or other tasks. Why not purchase a 2-speed pump and it will satisfy 98% of your needs and is a LOT cheaper than a VS?

Easily proven that a slow speed will give more effective filtration but you need the high speed for the high volume tasks.