Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Reference Book

1. Back To Top    #1

Question Reference Book

I'm going to take over my own pool maintenance and would like a "good" book on pool water chemistry. I'm an advanced degreed chemical engineer by training and would like something more thorough than the standard "dip the strip and add a bucket of chlorine". Is there any book out there that actually explains the physical chemistry and maintenance of pool water? Those offered on Amazon.com seem to be rather basic in their treatment of the subject.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Reference Book

The good book is on line and it's called Pool School. Start with these:
    ABCs of Water Chemistry
    Recommended Pool Chemicals
    How to Chlorinate Your Pool

Richard, our local water guru (chem geek) may know of some books. You can PM him. If you search on his posts he links to many peer reviewed papers regarding the subject.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

3. Back To Top    #3

I'd like to welcome you to the forum! Take a look at Pool School with paying a special attention to the ABC's of Pool Water Chemistry. I think that should give you a great foundation to build on......and it's free.

4. Back To Top    #4

As an Advanced degred chemical engineer....you might want to dip your toes in The Deep End forum when you get past the basics.
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir