Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Is this salt water / SWG damage on my coping?

1. Back To Top    #1

Is this salt water / SWG damage on my coping?

My pool is at the end of it 4th season and I'm seeing some cracks in the concrete and some chips coming off the coping.

Is this the result of the SWG? Also, are my coping stones the wrong kind for use with an SWG?

Thanks!
    Bart
    Attached Images Attached Images
    700 sq. ft./30,000 gal, gunite pool; 48 SF DE filter; 1.5 HP pump; Salt Water Generator; Solar Heat

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Is this salt water / SWG damage on my coping?

I'm no expert, but it looks more like water-freeze damage
    45'x12' 17k gal, IG plaster, Pool Pilot Nano+ SWG, 1/2hp Whisperflo pump, PAC-FAB TA-60D sand filter, Raypak 266 heater
    Pool School + Test Kit + Pool Math = Trouble Free Pool

3. Back To Top    #3

I agree with @zimm. It looks like water infiltration/freezing damage. Especially the mortar in between your stone coping. That looks like standard thermal expansion cracking. That is easily repaired and/or patched.

Look at the top of the tile line in the pool starting at the top of the tile. Do you see any separation or gap between the top of the tile and bottom of the coping?

4. Back To Top    #4

Thanks folks!

Yes, Sunny, there is some separation between the top of the tile and the coping in certain spots. What does that mean? More freeze damage? I drain the pool to below the tile line before closing it in winter and cover the pool with a "solid" cover that covers the entire pool and all of the coping.
    700 sq. ft./30,000 gal, gunite pool; 48 SF DE filter; 1.5 HP pump; Salt Water Generator; Solar Heat

5. Back To Top    #5