Lower than expected CYA (and FC) -- Newbie

Sep 10, 2014
Oceanside NY
Hi all,

I am new to pool ownership and have done a lot of reading on this site. Its fantastic!

I purchased the TF-100 kit and tested my FC at .5 for two weeks now. I understand that low CYA can cause FC to burn off quick by the sun and that ideal levels at 60-80 ppm for a saltwater pool. However, I am scared to add too much CYA because I don't want to go over 100 ppm since I understand the only way to get rid of CYA is to drain the pool.

On Sept 5, 2014, my CYA tested at about 20 based on the visual "Dot" test last week which can be subjective but even at 20 I could vaguely see the dot. This was after adding 2 pounds of "Saltwater stabilizer" made by Saltwater Series a month ago directly to the skimmer. According to their label, it takes 3.5 lbs to get to 60ppm for a 10,000 gallon pool. Figure I am roughly 6,000 gallons so about 2.1 pounds should get me to 60 ppm. So I decided to add another roughly .5 lbs to see what would happen on 9/5. Today is 9/10 and CYA is testing at about 25 ppm and FC still low at 5. Based on what I have read, the only way to get higher chlorine in SWG is to run pump longer (or adjust CYA to proper level). I currently run 10 hours a day.

So my question is: How reliable is the TF-100 CYA test (I also have less exact "pool check" color strips that show CYA somewhere between 0 and 30-50 but its hard for me to tell exactly. The strips also indicate little to no chlorine). I am hesitant to add more CYA given that I already have about 2.5-3 lbs in a 6,000 gallon pool. According to "pool math" 3 lbs should get me to 60 ppm. Is it possible that adding directly to the skimmer caused CYA to no dissolve? Or is it possible the brand of CYA I bought requires more than indicated on the label? I want to add more CYA to the pool I just am scared I am going to add too much.