Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Add chemicals or drain first?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    atlantta
    Posts
    22

    Add chemicals or drain first?

    Add chemicals or drain first...
    Been having algea trouble all year... biught a good test kit and found the following:
    FC 7
    PH 7.6
    TA 60
    CH 130
    CYA 100
    I assume the high CYA- plus high chlorine is leading to low calcium- not to mention the algae I've been fighting
    Which do you suggest I do first: I add the calcium chloride to raise the CH or replace the water to lower the CYA?
    Just re surfaced the pool last year - concerned about the low CH level messing up the gunite
    38900 gallons ,IG ,Gunite, sand filter ( swim quip from the 60's), pump: Hayward SP2610X15 1.5 HP single speed, pool installed?? late 60's, re- surfaced October 2012

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,499

    Re: High CYA question

    Quote Originally Posted by babsh View Post
    Add chemicals or drain first...
    Been having algea trouble all year... biught a good test kit and found the following:
    FC 7
    PH 7.6
    TA 60
    CH 130
    CYA 100
    I assume the high CYA- plus high chlorine is leading to low calcium- not to mention the algae I've been fighting
    Which do you suggest I do first: I add the calcium chloride to raise the CH or replace the water to lower the CYA?
    Just re surfaced the pool last year - concerned about the low CH level messing up the gunite
    Is this your own testing or pool store testing?

    If it's your replace water first. But,....... 100 is the limit of the CYA test, so you have to do a diluted test. While the full instructions are in the Pool School, here is the short version. Mix 50% pool water with 50% tap water. Use this mixed sample as your test water. If still at a 100 you will need to dilute more. Here is a great chart by JamesW to explain dilution rates and what you multiply the results by to get an approximation of your CYA level.

    Pool water......Tap or distilled water.........Multiply result by

    ....1...................1................................2
    ....1...................2................................3
    ....1...................4................................5
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    atlantta
    Posts
    22

    Re: High CYA question

    I'm using a Leslies Total pool care DPD test kit.
    I tested it twice, kind of a different test than I've seen for CYA- had to fill a small vile with the mixture until the black dot at bottom can no longer be seen. Is this not an accurate test? I thought this was one of the kits suggested, but I didn't have my list when I went to the store.
    Anyway, will diluting the water give me a more accurate reading? From our comment it doesn't look like to could go any higher than 100.
    Thanks for your insight
    Last edited by babsh; 09-10-2014 at 11:21 AM. Reason: need to add comment
    38900 gallons ,IG ,Gunite, sand filter ( swim quip from the 60's), pump: Hayward SP2610X15 1.5 HP single speed, pool installed?? late 60's, re- surfaced October 2012

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,499

    Re: High CYA question

    Quote Originally Posted by babsh View Post
    I'm using a Leslies Total pool care DPD test kit.
    I tested it twice, kind of a different test than I've seen for CYA- had to fill a small vile with the mixture until the black dot at bottom can no longer be seen. Is this not an accurate test? I thought this was one of the kits suggested, but I didn't have my list when I went to the store.
    Anyway, will diluting the water give me a more accurate reading? From our comment it doesn't look like to could go any higher than 100.
    Thanks for your insight
    CYA can be higher than 100, but the test you are using only goes up to 100. When you get a 100 reading you need to do the diluted test to see how far above 100 it is.

    This thread really should be split off as your own, not tacked on to an old thread. The moderators will probably split it off soon.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,499

    Re: High CYA question

    Quote Originally Posted by babsh View Post
    I'm using a Leslies Total pool care DPD test kit. I thought this was one of the kits suggested, but I didn't have my list when I went to the store.
    It's close, it's missing the very important FAS-DPD chlorine test. Leslies is famous for saying this is the same thing or all you need. Order the FAS-DPD test from TFTTestkits.net and you are good to go.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,499

    Re: Add chemicals or drain first?

    Quote Originally Posted by babsh View Post
    I assume the high CYA- plus high chlorine is leading to low calcium- not to mention the algae I've been fighting
    Which do you suggest I do first: I add the calcium chloride to raise the CH or replace the water to lower the CYA?
    So, back to your original question---

    CYA or chlorine will not affect CH, but they do show why you have had constant algae problems.

    Here is my suggestion:
    Diluted CYA test to determine how much water you need to replace. In ATL you will want your CYA down around 30**
    SLAM your pool to get rid of the algae
    Raise CH up to 300 or so.


    ** Here are the recommended levels from Pool School
    with Bleach
    FC 3-7 (See CYA chart)
    pH 7.5-7.8
    TA 70-90+
    CH 250-350
    CYA 30-50

    Speaking of Pool School, how much have you read? Start with these:
    ABCs of Water Chemistry
    Recommended Pool Chemicals
    How to Chlorinate Your Pool
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    atlantta
    Posts
    22

    Re: Add chemicals or drain first?

    Thanks so much--I think they have split the thread- I'm a total newby and thougth I was doing right .. oops
    I have read the ABC's as well as recommended pool chems- honestly wasn't sure how much was accurate info (who ever heard of putting liquid store bought bleach in their pool?) I see now I was very wrong.
    I did print out the levels chart.
    Plan on replacing water this week end and ordering the suggested addtl test.
    BTW... CYA was at 186!!
    38900 gallons ,IG ,Gunite, sand filter ( swim quip from the 60's), pump: Hayward SP2610X15 1.5 HP single speed, pool installed?? late 60's, re- surfaced October 2012

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Add chemicals or drain first?

    How did you get 186? Did you somehow measure 93? Realize that the accuracy of the test in around +/-10-15ppm so no point trying to be that exact. Just pour the solution back and forth a few times and see if you are consistent.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    atlantta
    Posts
    22

    Re: Add chemicals or drain first?

    OK now I'm totally confused... I did measure 93 drops. I filled the dispensing bottle with 1/2 tap and half pool up to the 7 line then filled it with the #13 the rest of the way. I used that and it took 93 drops for the black dot at the bottom of the vile to disappear.
    What do you mean about pouring the solution back and forth a few times.
    Sorry to be so ignorant on all of this
    38900 gallons ,IG ,Gunite, sand filter ( swim quip from the 60's), pump: Hayward SP2610X15 1.5 HP single speed, pool installed?? late 60's, re- surfaced October 2012

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Add chemicals or drain first?

    You do not count the drops for the CYA test. You look at the line on the side of the vial when the dot disappears.

    Check out the tftestkits youtube videos: https://www.youtube.com/user/tf100te...e=results_main
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    atlantta
    Posts
    22

    Re: Add chemicals or drain first?

    OK I tested it by diluting and then just as the test on you tube says... looks like its at 100. When I do the diluted test it says 90... test as shown on you tube it comes up at 100. I believe you said there was a 10-15 PPM + or minus. So should I go with a 100 or a 90 CYA in the pool math?
    38900 gallons ,IG ,Gunite, sand filter ( swim quip from the 60's), pump: Hayward SP2610X15 1.5 HP single speed, pool installed?? late 60's, re- surfaced October 2012

  12. Back To Top    #12
    pwrstrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Elverson Pa.
    Posts
    4,758

    Re: Add chemicals or drain first?

    If your diluted test was 90 you have to X that by 2. Your CYA level is 180.
    Jeff
    24'x54" AG Morada RTR (by wilbar) 13'500 gal. Hayward Powerflo Matrix 1hp 2 speed. Hayward Perflex EC65 DE filter.

  13. Back To Top    #13
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,499

    Re: Add chemicals or drain first?

    Quote Originally Posted by babsh View Post
    OK I tested it by diluting and then just as the test on you tube says... looks like its at 100. When I do the diluted test it says 90... test as shown on you tube it comes up at 100. I believe you said there was a 10-15 PPM + or minus. So should I go with a 100 or a 90 CYA in the pool math?
    If you do the standard test and get 100 that means it's 100 or above.

    Now you do the diluted test and get 90. But, in the diluted test you need to multiply your answer. If you did a 1 to 1 dilution, then multiply the answer by 2 to get 180.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    atlantta
    Posts
    22

    Re: Add chemicals or drain first?

    Ohhhhhhh... now I see
    OK so I'm at 180 I will plug that into the pool math board.
    Then I should..
    Take care of the CYA
    then slam the pool
    then add calcium?
    38900 gallons ,IG ,Gunite, sand filter ( swim quip from the 60's), pump: Hayward SP2610X15 1.5 HP single speed, pool installed?? late 60's, re- surfaced October 2012

  15. Back To Top    #15
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,499

    Re: Add chemicals or drain first?

    Quote Originally Posted by babsh View Post
    Ohhhhhhh... now I see
    OK so I'm at 180 I will plug that into the pool math board.
    Then I should..
    Take care of the CYA
    then slam the pool
    then add calcium?
    You got it. Any other way costs you more money.

    You could add calcium now, but will pump it out when you fix the CYA.

    You could SLAM now but it would take three times the amount of chlorine.

    See the logic?
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    atlantta
    Posts
    22

    Re: Add chemicals or drain first?

    yes, totally... thanks so much- I was thinking it was the filter. Honestly I was saying ,what could these guys know the pool store doesn't..... then I saw what my pool store guy drives...lol
    38900 gallons ,IG ,Gunite, sand filter ( swim quip from the 60's), pump: Hayward SP2610X15 1.5 HP single speed, pool installed?? late 60's, re- surfaced October 2012

  17. Back To Top    #17
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,499

    Re: Add chemicals or drain first?

    Quote Originally Posted by babsh View Post
    then I saw what my pool store guy drives...lol
    Remember who makes the payments

    Now you don't support him anymore
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •