Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Just tried the new test kit,It's like Christmas!

1. Back To Top    #1

Just tried the new test kit,It's like Christmas!

Just did my first test! I am a certified lab rat(actually I am a certified lab scientist, so this is up my alley,so to speak!)
    When the test kit came in the mail, I said, Yippee!. My teenage son said, "What are you so excited about?" Kids, they just don't get it!
    Here are my results:FC 8
    CC.5
    CYA60
    TA80
    pH7.5-7.8
    My pool generally looks OK, but it is getting a little cloudy in the deep end.
    I just bought the chlorine at the pool store, 12.5%, 4 gals for 13.00. Seemed like a good deal.
    Perhaps I need to raise my alkalinity? I had been using the 3" pucks in a floater, but that stopped today!
    Thanks for any input,T.
    15x 30 inground oval vinyl lined. 15000gals. Jacuzzi 250lb sand filter. Laars lite natural gas heater. 6 foot slide, underwater light . 3.5 ft. shallow,to 7ft. deepend. TF 100 test kit

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Just tried the new test kit,It's like Christmas!

Congrats on your first test! But, you also have the lab coat to go with the kit!

Has your FC dropped below the Minimum FC of 5ppm? This could have allowed some algae to get started.

Your TA of 80 is actually kinda' perfect! (Recommended range 70 - 90)

Can you get a little closer on the pH level?

What is your CH?
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3