Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: High CYA - Do I need to Drain Pool?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    3

    High CYA - Do I need to Drain Pool?

    Hi everyone. I'm hoping you can give me some guidance on my levels.

    Live in New Jersey
    Pool is 22,000 Gallons
    Vinyl liner
    Hayward DE filter
    Typically use puck chlorine system, but switched to BBB recently.

    Current levels:
    1.8 FC
    7.5 PH
    70 TA
    130 Cal Hardness
    100 CYA

    I was out of town for a few weeks and didn't have anyone maintain pool...now levels are all messed up. Water is nice and clear, and I know I need to dump a couple of gallons of chlorine immediately to raise FC, but I am very concerned about the high CYA. For most of the summer it was up to about 80, and I didn't mind that. Now I think I might need to replace water. According to pool calculator, about 75%. Is this true? Do I have any other alternatives?

    I am concerned about replacing this much water and possibly damaging the liner.
    Also, we live in a suburban neighborhood, and our pool backwash hose runs along the side of the house to the front yard. The hose terminates near the public sidewalk, not a sewer. It would completely flood the sidewalk. Isn't this illegal? Do I need to reroute the hose to the public sewer?

    Any help would be appreciated!

    Maplewood

  2. Back To Top    #2
    swoopman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Annapolis, MD
    Posts
    213

    Re: High CYA - Do I need to Drain Pool?

    I am new here and dealing with high CYA too. The experts here told me that 100 CYA is the limit for that test and that the test needs to be done with 50% tap water and 50% pool water to get good CYA measurement. See step 9 of the extended CYA directions here (scroll down to CYA):
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/threa...Kit-Directions

    Have you done that? Everyone here is going to want to know before they can help.

    The alternative to replacing water is to have a company perform RO (reverse osmosis) on the water. I did not find anyone in Maryland who did this so not sure what luck you'll have in Jersey. It's a service that seems more available in dry areas like California.

    So you're probably looking at a drain and fill. I don't have a liner pool so hopefully one of the experts can answer that for you.

    I have no idea about the legalities of draining water where you are. Would it be possible to use a submersible pump and run the hose to a drain line somewhere?
    TF-100 Test Kit
    22,000 gallon, 20x40 kidney-shape IG plaster pool built in 1986
    Nautilus NS-36 DE filter, Hayward Self Prime Super Pump 1HP
    Polaris Automatic Pool Cleaner, PB4-60 3/4 HP pump

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    3

    Re: High CYA - Do I need to Drain Pool?

    Thanks for your response. I just did the cya water test and got 48x2= 96. So the 100 reading is fairly accurate. Not sure what I should do. My wife thinks I should just dump some bleach to get FC higher and ignore it, but I worry about it being this high. We bought this house 2 years ago, and CYA was always 80+. Maybe someone else can offer advice? Thanks again for your response.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    swoopman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Annapolis, MD
    Posts
    213

    Re: High CYA - Do I need to Drain Pool?

    I should have mentioned... the experts here are going to ask you a few other things to so I might as well tell you - that way you can reply and they'll have what they need to help you more than I have.

    1) Add your pool info to your forum signature. I know you included it in your first post but adding it to your signature makes it show in every post so the info is quickly available. See the second paragraph here:
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/threa...rs-Please-Read

    2) Do you have a SWG (salt water generator) - you can include in the forum signature. The acceptable levels of CYA vary depending on whether or not you're using a SWG.

    3) What test kit you're using or where you got your test results.

    - - - Updated - - -

    You're welcome

    Have a look at my original thread and the replies from timerguy and Richard320. It may help you decide what to do or at least give you something to consider:
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/threads/82549-New-Member-First-time-testing-seeking-help-high-CYA-drain-close
    TF-100 Test Kit
    22,000 gallon, 20x40 kidney-shape IG plaster pool built in 1986
    Nautilus NS-36 DE filter, Hayward Self Prime Super Pump 1HP
    Polaris Automatic Pool Cleaner, PB4-60 3/4 HP pump

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    3

    Re: High CYA - Do I need to Drain Pool?

    Thanks for your help. I've added ion in my signature.
    No, I don't have a salt water generator.
    Added test kit.
    I still don't know what to do...Can anyone else respond?
    22,000 Gallon Vinyl Lined In-Ground Pool in NJ, USA
    Hayward DE Filter DE2420LA / Hayward Variflo Valve SP10XR50 / Hayward Chlorine Feeder CL220 / Hayward Superpump C48L2N134B1 / Hayward H Series Heater
    Taylor K-2006 FAS-DPD Chlorine Test Kit

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Gilbert, Az
    Posts
    116

    Re: High CYA - Do I need to Drain Pool?

    For a non swg pool keeping it at 80 is really high and doesn't give you much would room. Also increases chlorine needs to maintain a clear pool. What test kit are you using? I would recommend draining to get cya to 40
    12k - free form - plaster- Nautilus fns48 DE filter- centurion 1hp (so quiet)- In floor cleaning system with Jandy Caretaker - TF-50 and 5 in 1 test kit, Phoenix, Az

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Chapin, SC
    Posts
    1,141

    Re: High CYA - Do I need to Drain Pool?

    You really ought to get your cya down to 50ppm to make it easier to manage <$$$ in bleach.
    Pool size: 24000gal inground Vinyl-Taylor k-2006 and k-1766 test kits and-speed stir
    Intermatic P1353ME digital timer w/freeze sensor
    CircuPool Si-45 SWCG System
    Polaris 280 vacuum/Polaris PB4-60 boost pump
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3hp Pump--Pentair sand filter

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    728

    Re: High CYA - Do I need to Drain Pool?

    How much longer to you anticipate using your pool this season (I'm seeing New Jersey as your location)?
    18' x 48" ring top pool (Summer Escapes); 5500 gallons; set up June - October, stored during winter; Intex 2500 gph pump (B size cartridge filter) Hayward 21" sand filter + 1.5 hp single speed Powerflo Matrix pump (upgrade October 2016) *** K-2006 test kit, refills from tftestkits

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •