Total Newby - No chlorine level, Algae, Can't Keep Pressure

Aug 25, 2014
Perry
I bought a house about 2 months ago and have been maintaining the 28' circular pool (4.5' deep - city water) what I thought was fairly well. There was a period of time of about a month between the house being sold and us moving in where it wasn't touched. After vacuuming a couple of times and cleaning out the filter, we got it to look pretty nice. The problem I'm running into is 3 fold:

1) Until today, I have never registered a chlorine level. The pool has a frogger system and I have adjusted it to no avail. I took samples into the pool store weekly just to make sure I was doing everything right. Every time I've taken the water to get tested, the local pool store just keeps telling me to shock it as the chlorine is 0 but everything else (pH, etc) is where it should be. Every time. Today I have a meager chlorine level because I put an additional disk in the skimmer last night due to problem #2. Is there something else I need to be doing to register a chlorine level? The pool is uncovered and exposed to the sun for a good portion of the day.

2) The water began to get cloudy a couple days ago and then I noticed there was algae floating around. I shocked it last night and then an algaecide today. Yes...I'm the guy desperately throwing stuff into the pool realizing I should have come here first. I wanted to go to the pool store but I think I know their answer. "Shock it". As it stands, I can barely see the floor.

3) We can't maintain pressure. We have a cartridge filter that I need to clean out every 2-3 days to get the pressure going. I have been fairly diligent about keeping the pressure up. We keep it running 24/7 and when it's first cleaned out, it blows really well and gets a great current going.