Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Clean filter - first great then output goes down

1. Back To Top    #1

Clean filter - first great then output goes down

Hi,

I'm a noob, so bear with me.

Just bought new house with 10k gal pool.

Had the pool re-diamond brited 17 days ago. Looks great and we have been brushing daily - chemicals all check fine at local pool store.

My problem -

I clean the cartridge filter every other day and the pressure drops down to 3-5 psi. I have two outputs things (sorry) that shoot out of a wall on the pool into the pool (return filtered water). These two water spout returns shoot out real far right after I clean the filter - and if I put my hand by my output jets (in the pool) they are blasting out water.

Problem is about 15 minutes later - the two water spouts on the wall are about half of what they were and the two output jets in the pool aren't putting out much water.

As a test, I cleaned the cartridge filter again - and same thing starts out strong then 10-15 minutes later - not much water output.

I don't think this is normal - I'm new at this but it wasn't doing this before. Could it be that the filter is just done? I was hoping to wait till 28 days to replace filter.

What else could it be?
    In ground pool 10,000 gal
    Blue Diamond brite
    cartridge filter - hayward single

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Clean filter - first great then output goes down

Your filter could have reached the end of its useful life. There comes a point where it is extremely difficult to wash out all the embeded particles. Another option is that the water just has alot of fine suspended particles that its just filtering out.
    Randy H.

Intex 18' X 48"
    G.A.M.E. Sandpro 75 Sand Filter (Single Speed 3/4 HP, 75 lbs sand, 2650 GPH, 7-way valve)

3. Back To Top    #3

TFP Guide