Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Advice on a size filter...

1. Back To Top    #1

Advice on a size filter...

We are building a new pool, about 17,000-20,000 gallons (not sure on the exact size but will be between those numbers) with a vinyl liner. The pump we will be using a 1.5 HP Hayward SP2300VSP Max-Flo VS Variable-Speed and we are wondering what size, brand etc. filter to get? We'd like to use a cartridge filter and I'll be doing the BBB method of pool maintenance as I'm a chemist and think I can handle it. Thanks for any input!!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Advice on a size filter...

Welcome to TFP!!!

For cartridge filters, the bigger the better. For a pool that size, I would suggest 250-300 sqft or bigger if you want to clean the filter less often.
    Any of the major brands are similar. You may get a longer warranty if you buy more than 3 pieces of equipment from the same manufacturer at the same time.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

My personal preference is for a cartridge filter. Better than a sand filter, but not as good as a DE filter. No backwashing necessary for a cartridge filter. As for size, get the biggest you can afford. Less frequent filter cleaning is the reason for this recommendation.

Hope this helps.
    12000 Gallon IG Plaster built 2/15/2014. Jandy 340 sg ft 127 gpm filter, Jandy 1 HP stealth pump. Circupool RJ-45 SWG (overkill). TF-100 with Speed Stir.

4. Back To Top    #4