Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Pump and Filter help!!!

1. Back To Top    #1

Pump and Filter help!!!

Hi I am a newbie to pool ownership... 18 x 48 AG round 7600 gal came with a 1 hp easy clean cartridge filter/pump combo. Needless to say the cheap pump is non effective and would like to upgrade.

Been told that a Hayward 1 HP ULTRA-PRO LX with an 18" sand filter will do the trick.

Is this a good suggestion? Or is this overkill?
    Thanks
    18 foot round AG pool 7646 gallons Seasonal with really cheap filter.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Pump and Filter help!!!

Welcome to TFP!

A couple of questions first --

Is you pool a "seasonal" variety or is it a permanent install?

What brand of pump/filter combo is currently installed?

Can you post a few pictures of your set-up? This may help us help you. http://www.troublefreepool.com/threa...oto-s-Tutorial

That said, the sand filter might be a good option for you.

Another question. How is the current filter set non effective? If it's the filter cartridge that is letting dirt through, you can probably find a better cart through Unicel or Filbur. Both of their websites have filter matching ability.
    15'x48" 4500 gallon Intex pool, buried 1.5 ft. Pac-Fab Dynamo 3/4 hp pump. Hayward S180T sand filter, bought used. Taylor K-2006 test kit. Rocket mass heater based wood fired pool heater.

3. Back To Top    #3

TFP Guide

Welcome to the forum
    '70s IG Vinyl 32K gal, Lazy L, Hayward SuperPump 1.5hp 120V, S240 Sand Filter W/DE
    Solar Blanket, Well Water, Borax Added, TF-100 tester. ? too cold
    1979, 275gal Conway Emerald Spa P-100-2, ES-2 Spa Pack, bromine floater, indoor
    TF-100, Best test kit - TFTestkits.net
    Please help keep the lights on, become a TFP Supporter!

4. Back To Top    #4

Welcome to the forums.