Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25

Thread: What is needed to control pool with iPad/iphone

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    marietta/ga
    Posts
    65

    What is needed to control pool with iPad/iphone

    My builder is installing a Pro logic ps-4 with Jandy never lube valves. I have a pool spa combo and would like to be able to turn on spa with my iPhone/Ipad and adjust pool or spa temp. Is it possible to achieve this with the ps-4 and if so what equipment will I need to purchase?
    16,000 gallons, IG
    Pebble,Sand
    Jandy 2 speed pump
    Under construnction 8-1-14
    Spa

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Mansfield, TX
    Posts
    82

    Re: What is needed to control pool with iPad/iphone

    Not sure what equipment you would need, but you might ask your builder. I know ours offered an app (I think from Aqualink) that you could buy where you could control your pool or spa from your phone or computer. I don't remember the cost, but it wasn't cheap. I never really entertained it since we have the handheld anyway, but I do know one of my neighbors got one with his pool.
    14,700 IG chlorine, NPT mini pebble Midnight Blue built 7/14
    Jandy cartridge filter, 2.0 HP Jandy E-pump variable speed
    Taylor K-2005C test kit
    15' weeping wall water feature, Jandy LED, Polaris 3900 Sport cleaner
    Aqualink PDA

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Pasadena, MD
    Posts
    3

    Re: What is needed to control pool with iPad/iphone

    I came across this company last year. They were out of stock for a LONG time but just checked the website and the device is available and affordable. I'm considering buying one myself but want to do additional install research first.

    http://www.autelis.com/homeautomatio...dy-zodiac.html

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: What is needed to control pool with iPad/iphone

    I am not sure there is an add-on piece of equipment from Hayward that would allow this. The new OmniLogic does out of the box I believe. Or there are a lot of threads discussing the above mentioned Autelis option.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Lake Jackson, Texas
    Posts
    128

    Re: What is needed to control pool with iPad/iphone

    I'm doing the same thing and had to research it for my builder since he likes the AquaLogic system. In order to do this, you need the ProLogic, which I now have the PS-8 that is being installed tomorrow. He is also putting in the Aquapod (from the beginning), so he needed to buy the base antenna. If you do not have an Aquapod, you will need to purchase the base antenna which is part number AQL2-BASE-RF. To make your iPhone/iPad/Computer work, you will need to also purchase the AquaConnect Home Network Device which will talk to the base antenna. It is connected to your router inside the house. The part number for the AquaConnect Home Network Device is AQ-CO-HOMENET. You also need to have version 4.20 software or above in your controller.

    This is my understanding of what I need but I would still recommend giving Hayward a call before you start buying things… Number is (908) 355-7995. Good luck!

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: What is needed to control pool with iPad/iphone

    Ah ... forgot about the AquaConnect. I think that is fairly new.

    FYI, I have the P4 ProLogic which is the same as the AquaLogic. I agree that I think you might need the PS4/8/etc which has added features.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Pontotoc MS
    Posts
    10

    Re: What is needed to control pool with iPad/iphone

    Omni logic works great

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    marietta/ga
    Posts
    65

    Re: What is needed to control pool with iPad/iphone

    Thanks so much, this is is the info I needed.
    16,000 gallons, IG
    Pebble,Sand
    Jandy 2 speed pump
    Under construnction 8-1-14
    Spa

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Pontotoc MS
    Posts
    10

    Re: What is needed to control pool with iPad/iphone

    I just installed the omni logic from hayward I really like the unit

    http://www.thepowerofsimple.com

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Lake Jackson, Texas
    Posts
    128

    Re: What is needed to control pool with iPad/iphone

    Hayward says it is not available yet. I wonder if they are having bug issues.

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Lake Jackson, Texas
    Posts
    128

    Re: What is needed to control pool with iPad/iphone

    Hooked the AquaConnect up today. Works great! I was a little worried because it is about 250 ft. from the pool controller but works just fine! I also installed the app on my iPhone and it works as well when I am hooked into my wifi or from LTE.
    25K gal FF; QuartzScapes Barbados Blue; ColorLogic LEDs, ProLogic PS-8, AquaPod, AquaConnect, (3) WhisperFlo 2.5HP pumps, 1HP blower, 3/4HP cleaner pump; Pentair CC 520 cartridge filter; MasterTemp 400 propane, Rainbow 320; UltraPure UV/Ozone; Polaris 280; 7' raised spa by rock waterside; (soon) 62" fire pit, (soon) ODK; 60x40 screen enclosure
    Build - here.

  12. Back To Top    #12
    MBG75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    184

    What is needed to control pool with iPad/iphone

    What was required to use the aquaconnect? I have a prologic now.
    So I'd need the base antenna and their home network device?

    Is a subscription to their service needed? Or is that for away from home access?
    25k IG vinyl SWG Haywood 4830de 1.5hp TF-100

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Lake Jackson, Texas
    Posts
    128

    Re: What is needed to control pool with iPad/iphone

    Quote Originally Posted by MBG75 View Post
    What was required to use the aquaconnect? I have a prologic now.
    So I'd need the base antenna and their home network device?

    Is a subscription to their service needed? Or is that for away from home access?
    Yes on the base antenna and the network device. It hooks up to your router. There was a charge sometime ago for a subscription to use the web services, like away from home, but it appears to be all free now. I can access it from anywhere and I have not been charged anything nor asked for a credit card. I probably would not pay a subscription fee if there was one but it is free now…

    Make sure you have the correct firmware on your ProLogic. I was not worried because my pool was just built so the controller is fresh as can be.
    25K gal FF; QuartzScapes Barbados Blue; ColorLogic LEDs, ProLogic PS-8, AquaPod, AquaConnect, (3) WhisperFlo 2.5HP pumps, 1HP blower, 3/4HP cleaner pump; Pentair CC 520 cartridge filter; MasterTemp 400 propane, Rainbow 320; UltraPure UV/Ozone; Polaris 280; 7' raised spa by rock waterside; (soon) 62" fire pit, (soon) ODK; 60x40 screen enclosure
    Build - here.

  14. Back To Top    #14
    MBG75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    184

    Re: What is needed to control pool with iPad/iphone

    Quote Originally Posted by RiffeShooter View Post
    Yes on the base antenna and the network device. It hooks up to your router. There was a charge sometime ago for a subscription to use the web services, like away from home, but it appears to be all free now. I can access it from anywhere and I have not been charged anything nor asked for a credit card. I probably would not pay a subscription fee if there was one but it is free now...
    Thanks! That's what I wanted to know. If I had to get a subscription or not.

    You have any issues with the iPhone app? The reviews state you have to constantly sign in, and that the delay can be long
    25k IG vinyl SWG Haywood 4830de 1.5hp TF-100

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Lake Jackson, Texas
    Posts
    128

    Re: What is needed to control pool with iPad/iphone

    Quote Originally Posted by MBG75 View Post
    Thanks! That's what I wanted to know. If I had to get a subscription or not.

    You have any issues with the iPhone app? The reviews state you have to constantly sign in, and that the delay can be long
    You do have to sign in each time on the app if you sign out. I would not leave it open anyway in case you butt dial your pump. Lol. I have not tried leaving the app open. I'm sure there is another app the phone that would enter your information for you but I don't think it is a big deal. As far as the speed, I have not noticed a delay. My function start probably a second after I hit the button. 2 seconds max. I think the web interface from your desktop is slower if you are scrolling through the menu items. As far as turning things on and off, both are quick. I've seen a few bad reviews but I am not experiencing any problems yet whatsoever.
    25K gal FF; QuartzScapes Barbados Blue; ColorLogic LEDs, ProLogic PS-8, AquaPod, AquaConnect, (3) WhisperFlo 2.5HP pumps, 1HP blower, 3/4HP cleaner pump; Pentair CC 520 cartridge filter; MasterTemp 400 propane, Rainbow 320; UltraPure UV/Ozone; Polaris 280; 7' raised spa by rock waterside; (soon) 62" fire pit, (soon) ODK; 60x40 screen enclosure
    Build - here.

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Re: What is needed to control pool with iPad/iphone

    I've been using the aquaconnect so far this year and have been very pleased.

    http://www.troublefreepool.com/threa...ireless-remote
    11,500 gallon mountain pond shaped vinyl line / Hayward 2spd pump / Hayward S244T sand filter (filled with zeobrite) / Hayward PL-P4 Automation panel / Hayward SWG (T-3 Cell) / Polaris 280 with booster / Hayward AquaConnect / Hayward CrystalLogic color changing LEDS

  17. Back To Top    #17
    MBG75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    184

    Re: What is needed to control pool with iPad/iphone

    Quote Originally Posted by S4cruiser View Post
    I've been using the aquaconnect so far this year and have been very pleased.

    http://www.troublefreepool.com/threa...ireless-remote
    Thanks for the link! I think I might upgrade to this over the winter.
    25k IG vinyl SWG Haywood 4830de 1.5hp TF-100

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    marietta/ga
    Posts
    65

    Re: What is needed to control pool with iPad/iphone

    I added this to my system and it works great. I would highly recommend this set up.


    aql2-base-rf $78.00 new open box on Ebay
    Aqua Connect 300.00 used on Ebay
    (2) GVA-24 100.00 each new on Amazon
    16,000 gallons, IG
    Pebble,Sand
    Jandy 2 speed pump
    Under construnction 8-1-14
    Spa

  19. Back To Top    #19

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    86

    Re: What is needed to control pool with iPad/iphone

    I also have the Hayward Prologic/Aquapod/network adapter setup. Honestly, I don't use the phone controls that much other than to turn on the spa before heading home from work. The Aquapod simply works better and is more convenient for use at home. The app is basically just a "port" of the aquapod interface (which is itself a "port" of the interface on the pool control box), and does not take advantage of many of the available interface advantages of a smartphone over the relatively antique Aquapod. There can be some delay related to routing the commands through a central internet server, but the Hayward rep showed me how to just type in or bookmark the IP address for the Hayward equipment which allows for smartphone control without an internet connection while in your house, and with less delay. There is no added functionality of the smartphone control aside from being able to control the system remotely (from anywhere you have an internet connection). Aside from its limitations, the only issue I have with the network/phone control system is that I have to "re-teach" the network/router sync every single time the power goes off. So if the power flickered while you were at work - no hot spa for you when you get home...
    30X40' free-form gunite/plaster pool, 4-8' deep with flagstone beach entry, gunite "rock" retaining wall with multiple small waterfalls/planters, grotto/slide/waterfall combo, 18" raised spa with waterfall into pool

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    marietta/ga
    Posts
    65

    Re: What is needed to control pool with iPad/iphone

    I currently don't have any remotes and my pool equipment is 100 ft from my pool. The remotes are so expensive that I found this to be an cheaper option. Now anyone with a smart phone can control the pool. It does have a lag. I Also travel a lot so this will be great to check on things when I'm out of town. I have a camera overlooking my pool, so if I need to shut things off this will be a great tool to have. I would like to have some keypads that would allow me to control things from locations around the house but 300 bucks each is way to much for me.
    16,000 gallons, IG
    Pebble,Sand
    Jandy 2 speed pump
    Under construnction 8-1-14
    Spa

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •