Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Muriatic Acid - Need to lower PH

1. Back To Top    #1

Muriatic Acid - Need to lower PH

I'm just a beginner, but I've read you can get MA at the hardware store.

Home Depot it closest to me, though I see a lot of mention of Crown from Lowes.

This from Home Depot (if it works) is 2 gallons for under $11. A better deal than lowes and it seems to be 20 Baume (31.45%)

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Smart-2x1...specifications

Anyone see any problems using this?
    13,000 gallons w/ spa (in-ground) | Plaster pool surface
    2.5HP Jandy Stealth Pump | CL580 Filter | Polaris 480 Pro w/ Halcyon Pump | 400,000 BTU Jandy LT | Jandy Aquapure 3PPM | Jandy PS4

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Muriatic Acid - Need to lower PH

That will work just fine. That's the concentrated stuff which is the most economical but use caution when handling and adding to pool.
    Joel - TFP Moderator - Minnesota - **Become a TFP Supporter!** Helpful Links: ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry - SLAM Procedure - Chlorine/CYA Chart
    40x20 Pool: 32K Gallons * Vinyl * Bleach Chlorination * Hayward S270T Sand Filter * Pentair SuperFlo 1 HP * Teledyne/Laars Heater * AquaVac Tigershark * TF-100 w/ SpeedStir
    Isolated Spa - 345 Gallons

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by Mindflux View Post

This from Home Depot (if it works) is 2 gallons for under $11. A better deal than lowes and it seems to be 20 Baume (31.45%)

Nope - no problems, that is the stuff you want. At that price I'll have to go by HD as I normally use Lowes.